We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Spindrift Cottage

Spindrift Cottage - Quiet scenic location adjacent to RSPB Insh Marshes and Ruthven Barrackes
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spindrift Cottage - Quiet scenic location adjacent to RSPB Insh Marshes and Ruthven Barrackes
Private deck overlooking the quiet large tree lined garden and visiting wildlife. Lounge with patio doors opening onto a deck with patio furniture & BBQ
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
55 reviews
Spindrift Cottage - Quiet scenic location adjacent to RSPB Insh Marshes and Ruthven Barrackes
Private deck overlooking the quiet large tree lined garden and visiting wildlife.
Lounge with patio doors opening onto a deck with patio furniture & BBQ
Open plan kitchen with high ceiling and wooden beams
Double bedroom with ensuite
Twin  Room with bathroom
Main bathroom
Ensuite bathroom
Table tennis room
Large tree lined garden surrounded by hills
View of the courtyard garden
Driveway up to the cottage
Highland Cattle at the driveway entrance
Ruthven Barracks (adjacent) is floodlit at night
Loch Morlich and the Cairngorms nearby 20 minute drive
Tromie River, just l mile away, paddle or swim
Kingussie 1 mile (14 minutes walk) Kingussie Paths Network
Bird Reserve of Insh Marshes  1 mile
Loch an Eilein 10 miles
Ptarmigan Restaurant Cairngorm Mountain summer and winter
Skiing Cairngorm 30 minutes drive
Mountain Railway at Cairngorm Mountain 30 minute drive
Husky rally every January at Loch Morlich 20 minutes drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kingussie, Badenoch and Strathspey, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WaterBadg...
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My partner and I stayed at the cottage in June of this year, and were so sad to leave by the end of the week. Julie and John, the owners, are such a fantastic team and wonderful hosts. We were greeted by the lovely Julie upon arrival and shown around; the cottage was spotlessly clean and had a few extra items in it, such as a fresh loaf of bread, bottle of wine and pint of milk, that really made you feel very welcome. There's a lovely patio out the front, as well as a lawn to sit on and plenty of bird feeders (some with wildlife cams) to watch.

The cottage itself is modern and fully equipped with a dishwasher etc., plus you have access to wifi, a washing machine and two bikes for the duration of your stay. It's located in a secluded spot just outside Kingussie within a short walk of Ruthven Barracks and Insh Marshes RSPB reserve. Kingussie itself has plenty of amenities such as a cash machine, small Co-op, Boots, post office and a couple of restaurants and pubs. Plus you're only a short drive from Aviemore where all the main action in the Cairngorms is.

We had such a fantastic week that we wished we'd booked two. I dare say we'll be booking our next trip to Spindrift in the near future as it's just the place you want to visit year on year. I'd thoroughly recommend the cottage (and it's sister Sundower cottage next door) to anyone thinking of having a break in the beautiful Cairngorms National Park.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JHc2c
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional in every way!!”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our first visit to this area of Scotland. We were so very lucky to discover Spindrift cottage, an absolute gem. The cottage was absolutely spotless, we have never ever stayed anywhere so clean, and it was obvious that the owners take great care of it. Julie had left us a freshly home baked loaf of bread, milk, tea and coffee and even a bottle of wine, and she told us we could help ourselves to the leeks and rhubarb in their own garden! A bird box camera was connected to the TV and it was fun watching the antics of the sparrows while having our breakfast. All around the gardens, back and front, were bird feeders. The great spotted woodpecker delighted us as it squawked while eating so we knew it was there. It must cost Julie and John a fortune for bird food! Unfortunately we didn't have time to make use of the bikes which are provided.....perhaps next time? I cannot speak highly enough about Spindrift Cottage or what it's owners provide, the only down side to us personally is that anyone going there will return...... no doubt when we want to go!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jimnic20
scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“a jewel in the highlands”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stay here every year and it is first class. Julie and John have thought of everything necessary to make your stay in Spindrift a memorable experience . The cottage is spotless and has absolutely everything you need ....and more! There is always fresh home baked bread and wine as well as tea,coffee , milk and jam on your arrival. Nothing is too much trouble for Julie and John. We highly recommend staying at Spindrift/Sundowner Ruthven Steadings- you will not be disappointed.
The location is perfect for all kinds of activities whether it's gentle sightseeing or more adventurous pursuits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanP41328
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
“There are so many reasons to recommend staying at Spindrift.”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stay at Spindrift (our second visit with more to come) as it is a nice warm base for a walking holiday in the Cairngorms. It is a very nice conversion of a steading combining character with modern comforts. The main living/dining room and kitchen has high ceilings and lots of light - very nice to come back to after a day out walking.
The owners are very helpful and everything is so clean that they clearly pay a lot of attention to this.
There are nice walks to Glen Tromie and Insh Marshes RSPB from the door so we dont have to use the car every day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the leather sofa enjoying the sun/view through the patio doors after a day out walking.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue613
Hellifield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Having stayed at the adjoining property in the past, had the chance to check if Spindrift would be as good. Yes it was and there really isn't anything to choose between either of them. In the past Ihave been doubtful about staying at any property other than detached ones. However this proves you can stay at a "semi" and not be aware you even have neighbours! Julie & John are perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble. Have every intention of returning

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing