We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Turtle View

The pool with living room to the right
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The pool with living room to the right
Bedroom 1 - 5ft bed Living room with sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
The pool with living room to the right
Bedroom 1 - 5ft bed
Living room with sea views
sundeck with peace and tranquility
One guest said -  the only problem I have is where to sit with my gin and tonic
Pool and deck
Garden by dining area - watch the hummingbirds on the Hibiscus
View down to the house
Well equipped kitchen with island unit
Bedroom 2 - 2 4ft 6inch beds
Alongside the lounge
View from sundeck
Infinity pool
En-suite
A trip on a neighbours boat
Watch the sun go down accompanied by the steel band at Shirleys Heights on Sunday evenings
Go on an adventure in the Rainforest Canopy
Smiling Harry - have left this photo as a tribute to this special man who has sadly passed away.
Half Moon Bay - yes it is this quiet
Nelsons historic dockyard
The Peninsula
Half Moon Bay
Sun set at the Peninsula
View from bedroom 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Willikies, Saint Philip Parish, Antigua, Antigua and Barbuda

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
Mrs Linda...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The View is OK”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Location is fine as long as you have a car, There's no mention of the steps down to the Villa, The swimming Pool has Rust coming through, the downstairs toilet is leaking, and the tiles are coming off the wall, the cups need replacing, and I cleaned the cupboards and fridge before I could put things way, the Owner had just left the day Before !!! The outside furniture is looking very tired, the TV remote was broken. good job we took batteries for the DVD remote as there were none . There was food on the knives and forks in the draw, and I had to empty the dishwasher before I could use it, and there were no cleaning products to clean the toilets etc. had to ask the house manager for clean sheets !!!!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2018
Before your stay we corresponded on several occasions and we made the effort to leave the house looking lovely. We left a range of food items in the cupboard to make your initial start to the holiday easier. I feel very offended at your remarks about us having just left the house and insinuating that I did not leave some things clean.

I emailed you twice whilst you were at the villa to make sure that you were happy with everything. You did not even have the courtesy to reply. Claire is only down the road and you had ample opportunity to ask for her help and ask for things to be rectified at the time, which is what it clearly asks you to do in our terms and conditions.

Regarding the downstairs toilet leak, you reported this to Claire and she got a plumber out straight away to fix the leak. The plumber went to the house on the 12th May to fix the toilet as best he could while you were there as it needed more work but he needed to do that once you had left. I understand that she heard nothing from you after this until you were leaving and then you mentioned that it had a small leak. She is very upset that you have criticised her when she feels that she was responsive to your requirements. She copied me in on the email correspondence after you left which seemed very warm so I am at a loss to explain your review which makes it sound like she did not do her job.

There are two bedrooms and you booked for two guests and we completely refurbished the upstairs room in advance of your visit. Putting beautiful brand new mosquito curtains around the four poster bed and a week into your stay brand new curtains and blinds were put up, You chose to go downstairs and use the downstairs bedroom. We accept that the tiles in the downstairs en suite room need replacing and this is scheduled for this summer but you chose to use the downstairs room instead of the master, which we had got ready for you and the tiles are in perfect condition in this ensuite. Both en-suites have just had brand new Kohler faucets installed.

We also bought new lighting for the living room, imported beautiful baskets from Kenya and bought a new chest of drawers for the downstairs bedroom. We continually strive to add and improve the furnishings to give our guests a lovely experience.

Regarding the cups, you complained at the time. You pleasantly asked if you could replace the cups and Claire said of course and she would give you the money which we believe Claire had on her person ready to give to you but you took the cups with you when you left.

The outside furniture is solid teak and during the season the teak greys but it is still very solid and it is not tired. Every two years we have new covers made for the cushions in Sunbrella fabric. The round dining table, outside and the chairs are oiled at the start of every season.

I am sorry about the TV remote but you could have asked Claire to sort this out at the time and you did not.

In our experience in renting property abroad we have never had all cleaning products provided and we have always had to purchase them.

Claire normally puts out spare sheets for the guests so that they can change their own sheets through their stay. However in this instance as we were there the day before and everything was left ready she had assumed that the sheets were left out. I am sorry about this and it was my mistake. However as soon as you called Claire about the sheets she went straight up and got them out of the locked cupboard for you. If you needed more sheets then you could have just asked Claire. She is friendly, efficient and very obliging. It does not say anywhere in our description or terms and conditions that we will change your sheets for you.

Our home is stunning and we feel very sad that you think the view was “OK”. It is, in our view, simply gorgeous. We are sorry that you feel that you did not have a good experience. You were at the house for a month and we simply cannot understand that you did not get in contact with us straight away or respond to my emails. I would ask anyone reading this guest review to bear this in mind and also look at many reviews from previous guests who love it at Turtle view.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voyager72...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic villa”
Reviewed 16 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Turtle View. The villa is beautiful with fabulous views. We are a family of 4 and it suited us perfectly.
We recommend renting a car while you are there. We did not find any restaurants or shops within walking distance. Long Beach is a great family beach and just 10 minute, easy drive. Shops, restaurants within 10 minutes.
We hope to return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
Thanks for your lovely review. Yes you are right renting a car is a must. Hope you discovered the restaurant at long Beach called Mama Pasta. Kind regards Jane Laffan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S
1 review
“Perfect & relaxing vacation home”
Reviewed 12 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed at Turtle View and had truly a wonderful vacation. The house was gorgeous and well taken care of. Jane was quick to answer any questions we had before we arrived. Claire was very nice and quick to help us with anything we needed during our stay. I'd highly recommend this house and would love to go back in the future. A few things we learned from our trip...
- Go grocery shopping at the Epicurean in St. Johns. It's worth the drive (20ish minutes from the house).
- Get fresh bread from the blue grocery store just before Willikies
- Half Moon Bay is a gorgeous beach & perfect for small kids to swim
- Long beach is super close to the house and great for a quick beach getaway
- If anyone get's sick and needs a doctor visit go to Woods Clinic. It's a small urgent clinic but they helped us out with a sick 3 year old.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Mar 2018
Hi Melissa
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really love it when our guests enjoy our island home as much as we do. You have posted some great tips for guests. A great deal of credit goes to Claire our wonderful house manager for making our guests so welcome.
Kind regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeePoff
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Little slice of heaven.”
Reviewed 30 December 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Husband, son & I stayed here end of Feb, beginning of March. It was so relaxing I’ve only just got round to leaving a review.
Location is perfect. Beautiful setting with turtles swimming past and pelicans flying overhead. Highly recommend using a generous luggage allowance to bring your own inflatable canoe (from £75 on Amazon & fits in a medium sized suitcase)..
Very easy to drive anywhere on the island from here. While son did homework and husband worked online in the mornings I was able to bimble off in the car to visit the donkey sanctuary and potter about alone - feels very safe & the antithesis of Jamaica!
The villa had everything we needed - spacious & well equipped. Communication with Jane before going was great. On arrival Claire was a great help with informatIon and having groceries ready for us. We didn’t need any further help, but she is is very friendly and welcoming and I’m sure would there for you if needed.
Vernon's taxis were great. We used them to go and see the England/Windies matches and they helpful, friendly and reliable.
I can’t recommend a stay here highly enough. It was the most laid back and relaxing villa experience our family has had to date and we are gutted that we left it too late to organise a Feb half term visit for 2018.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We love it at Turtle view and we are thrilled that you enjoyed it so much .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dbmenard
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our favorite villa rental to date!!!!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My husband and I have rented a dozen properties on different Caribbean islands and this is by far one of our favorites. The villa was in a quiet location. We slept comfortably. We stayed for two weeks and will definitely go back. My husband cooked the best dinners in the kitchen, which was well equipped and the best table was outside next to the pool. No reservations required. We had a list of the cruise ship schedule and if there were more than two ships in that day we stayed home. I'd say nothing on the island was more than 30 to 45 minutes away. The home suited us perfectly. We loved exploring the island during the day and staying in at night for happy hour and dinner. There was almost always a breeze going through the house so there was absolutely no need for A/C. Long Bay was less than 5 minutes away and our favorite spot was over by OJ's Beach Bar where we could get bucket of beers for the beach.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2017
Hi Deb and Rob
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your holiday and look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing