We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice house for families”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house
Name plaque Tulse Hill
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Front of house
Name plaque
Tulse Hill
Lounge
Lounge 2
Wood burner
Original angel door decoration
Dining room
Kitchen
Utility room with washer/dryer and fridge freezer
Master bedroom with king size bed
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Shower room
Garden
Outside dining
Garden view
Garden bench - last sun of the day
Friendly garden dragon
Beach huts - ventnor beach
Ventnor beach west
Ventnor beach east from The Spyglass Inn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
L575LEjoh...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Very nice house for families”
Reviewed 6 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Smugglers has an excellent location, in a very quiet side street yet only about 200 yards from the centre of Ventnor. Very close to a large Co-op, Tesco Express, and good pubs and restaurants. The Esplanade and beach are only a few hundred yards away (although there are quite a few vertical yards as well!). The rooms are lovely, spotless, spacious, well equipped. The owners dealt very quickly with a small problem (broken light switch). The only reason I can't give it 5 stars is that there is only 1 WC, which makes life a little inconvenient for four adults and two children. Apart from that, it's first class.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
Glad you enjoyed your time in Smugglers and thank you for the review. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future. Best regards, Alun & Sheelagh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona L
1 review
“Lovely , well equipped cottage right in the town centre”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We loved our stay at Smugglers, cooking our own meals in the well equipped kitchen or eating out at the local pub. We lit the wood burning stove and enjoyed playing games that were supplied in the cottage
The town was so handy to pop to the shops if anything was required. The main carpark is not far away and a weeks tourist parking paid by phone made parking quite hassle free

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thanks for the great comments and glad that you enjoyed your stay there. We hope we can welcome you back to Smugglers sometime in the future. Best regards, Alun & Sheelagh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon_Dae...
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A lovely place for a family holiday”
Reviewed 23 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Smugglers is a lovely house and ideally placed for the High Street in Ventnor and the beach. We managed to make use of all the facilities except the barbecue and everything worked very well. The owners promptly sorted out the only mishap despite the fact that it was bank holiday Monday. I would wholeheartedly recommend Smugglers as ideal for a family holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2018
Thank you Simon for your great review. Glad that we were able to sort out the glitch with the toilet. We hope that we can welcome you back to Smugglers sometime in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Aug 2017
Hi Marina. Thank you and we're so glad you enjoyed the cottage. Hope to welcome you back sometime. Alun & Sheelagh
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Melvin L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal base from Ventnor ”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We went in the February half-term. Although many of the local attractions were closed, Ventnor is a good area to drive around the Isle of Wight. The cottage is jyst 2 minutes walk to the high street and 5-10 minutes from the beach.
We could find off-street parking a few minutes walk away.
One indoor toilet (the outdoor one was too cold for this time of year) was ok for our group size of four adults and two toddlers. We have feedback that the power shower thermostat should be looked at (shifted from freezing to scalding).
Rooms divide nicely for two family groups as the second bedrooms are accessed through the main bedrooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Thank you for your review, we're glad you enjoyed your time in Smugglers. Thanks also for the feedback on the shower, we'll make sur it's fixed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing