We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Picture perfect :)”

Review of Gills Cliff House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
183Sparkl...
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Picture perfect :)”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A wonderfully, spacious, clean and well maintained house. The views from the bedrooms are beautiful, as is the Island. There are plenty of activities for families, our children (6 &9) loved The Robin Hill adventure park and our day out at The Needles. If you go, make sure you experience the chairlifts down to the beach and for a total buzz go on the speedboat trip.

The owner phoned us during our stay to see how our holiday was going, if we where happy with the house and did we have any suggestions to help improve future stays for others. A really nice touch.

We would definitely recommend this property. So spacious, we where never under each others feet, a real kick back and relax place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous views and a beautiful house.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsGemmaD...
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning house... Everything we could have asked for”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house is absolutely beautiful with the incredible views and fantastic facilities and amenities. We stayed here with my family (9 of us including a 2yr old) and there was plenty of room for all of us.

The kitchen is well equipped with lots of cutlery and crockery, dishwasher, cooker, and microwave and they even leave you lots of cooking ingredients and condiments that they just ask you to refill if you use the last bit. What more could you want?

The bedrooms are spacious and clean with beautiful decor. Plenty of hanging and storage space in each room. Bed are very comfy, but if you are allergic to feather pillows/duvets as I am... You might wake up a bit bunged up!

The views from the upstairs bedrooms are amazing! Simply stunning and all bedrooms on the back have floor to ceiling views with patio doors so you can enjoy the views all day long.

The outdoor space and patio areas are lovely, with plenty of seating and space for children to play. Just watch young children though as there is a section that has quite a drop (it is roped off) and there is a pond too. So I would leave little ones unattended. Other than that it was perfect.

All in all, we loved Gills Cliff House. We managed to park two cars on the driveway with some careful placement, but it can be difficult to get out sometimes as the road can be busy.

It's about a 10 minute walk to the esplanade and shops, but it's not for the faint hearted!! Lots of very steep hills and steps but Ventnor is so beautiful that you shouldn't let that put you off.

Thank you so much to the owners for allowing us to stay... We just wished the weather had been better, but your beautiful house meant that even those rainy days didn't spoil our enjoyment.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moses_11
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

A beautiful house with an amazing view from the extremely large decking and bedrooms. What a lovely view to wake up to. We have spent a wonderful week on this glorious island coming back each evening to a wonderfully equipped house. Lots of little extras made this a week to remember. Thank you for sharing your lovely home. The booking experience was made stress free thanks to John Allen the property manager. We would definitely stay again at Gills Cliff House the next time we visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Obviously the magnificent views
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah T
Liphook
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent water views and lovely rooms throughout”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband surprised me to a 4 night stay at this house with our 14 month old daughter and it was the best house I have ever stayed in. It had everything you could possibly need and after night 1, I felt as if it was my own home and we were living there permanently - we wish!!

The beds were comfortable, the kitchen was more than fully equipped, the lounge room was so cosy and the water views were magnificent from every room!!

Ventnor is such a lovely little seaside town and the location of the house is not far from anywhere on the island.

We will definitely book this place again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homeliness of it and the water views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dwe310
Leeds West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Holidaying in Style”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

7 friends of a similar age and outlook stayed in one of the best examples of holiday accommodation we had seen, everything required was there and more besides. All rooms were well presented and we wanted for nothing. Definitely a recommendation to anyone who wants a little bit of luxury in the sun, the ladies in the party were all in awe of this magnificent house.
We had a great time visiting as much of the island as possible in probably the best week for weather we could have wished for. Steam trains, water mills, walks in gorges, magnificent views wherever we went and Freshwater Bay which is definitely a hidden jewel. We all ate more than we should have, especially in the Spyglass Inn in Ventnor, wholesome food and live music in the evening was a bonus. A great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sheer opulence and the views were magnificent
Liked least: Having to leave after a weeks stay
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing