We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for a quiet break.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shenstone

Welcome to our beautiful Victorian family home.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to our beautiful Victorian family home.
Large living room. Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Welcome to our beautiful Victorian family home.
Large living room.
Living room
Dining room seating 8 people
Dining room
Kitchen dining area
Kitchen dining area
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Family bedroom
Twin /Double bedroom
Twin/ Double Bedroom
Large family bathroom
Approach to the house.
Shenstone's front door.
Parking area at the side of the house
view from the garden
The terrace garden.
This our new trerraced garden ample room for a family party.
ventnor
Walk starting from just outside the front door.
Ventnor Beach
Ventnor beach
This years baby!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Adam H
1 review
“Great place for a quiet break.”
Reviewed 8 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We really enjoyed our stay here. Great views in a very nice village. Lots to.do and a beautiful house. I would come again.
Adam

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2016
You where lovely guests.
Please remember us in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
935Cookie...
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful large Victorian House - Great for exploring the Island”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a lovely time in this large spacious family home. There were 7 of us staying at Shenstone, Ventor. It was a fantastic base to visit the island. The property was well equipped and we would definitely recommend it to others. Perfect

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
Thank you for being such nice guests.
Kind regards
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary L
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Very spacious and well equipped”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Seven of us had a wonderful week at Shenstone in late August / early September. The house had plenty of space for all of us and was very comfortable. The owners seemed to have thought of everything we might need, and as we mostly cooked our own dinners we particualrly appreciated the large and well equipped kitchen / diner.
There were several public footpaths nearby and some of us took a pre-breakfast walk on the downs each morning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The large and well-equipped kitchen / diner
Liked least: It was rather awkward reversing the cars out on to a failrly busy road
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2015
You were lovely guests and I am glad you loved the island and the house.
Kind regards
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracy C
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Weekend Break”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We booked Shenstone for a group of family & friends to celebrate my birthday. The owner, Caroline was very helpful with both the property booking and recommending a restaurant for Saturday night. The house itself is welcoming, well equipped and conveniently situated on the outskirts of Ventnor. It was a bonus that we didn't need to use the car at all over the weekend and we had perfect weather even enabling us to eat breakfast on the decking. The only downside was the traffic noise interrupting the peace, but that is a minor issue. It wouldn't prevent us booking the house again. We loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and location of the property
Liked least: The noise from the road
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2015
Hi Tracy,
Many thanks for your lovely review, We loved having you as guests.
I hope you had a wonderful birthday.
All the best
Caroline
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n0rlady
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very comfortable home from home with lovely sea views”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Stayed for a week in May 2015. Two families with young children. Plenty of room to accommodate us all. House has everything we needed and beds were very comfy. The garden terrace although has steps up to it is a lovely place to sit and take in the sea views and a real sun trap but it has gates to keep the little ones contained. Although a road does run next to property and is quite busy during day time it does quietens down hugely come the evening. Property backs onto paths leading to many walks on the Downs above Ventnor - worth a look as great views. We all very much enjoyed our time here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2015
Many thanks for your review, We loved having you as guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing