We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge with sea views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with sea views
Victorian architecture and balcony Private balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
68 reviews
Lounge with sea views
Victorian architecture and balcony
Private balcony
New kitchen with dishwasher
Bedroom
Dining area and wall bed in cupboard
Wall bed in use
Bathroom with shower and hot water on demand
Sea views
Ventnor beach
View of round the island race from our balcony
Ventnor paddling pool
Great rockpools
Victorian beach huts
Great cycle tracks across the island
Wall lizards sunbathing in our garden
Beautiful sunsets on Ventnor beach
Stroll on the beach
Panoramic sea views from patio
And relax
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 68 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Paul M
Howden
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
Reviewed 15 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I recently stayed here for a week with my girlfriend and we both loved it.

Apartment was spotless and kitted out with everything we would need, views from the balcony were amazing.

It's in a great area too - loads of things to do.

Owners were always very prompt/helpful in dealing with questions/queries we had before/during the booking process.

Overall: We'd definitely stay here again and would recommend to others. I don't like to give 5-stars out for the sake of it, but this was very close to getting one.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irenko862
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Something Special.”
Reviewed 10 August 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We are always on the look out for something special and Marina apartments didn't disappoint. The view was something else and we enjoyed spending our evenings looking at the sea. The apartment was clean and comfortable, a few things needed sorting on our arrival but the apartment owner was quick in dealing with our issues. If we visit the Isle of Wight again, we would definately stay there again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill968
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 9 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Spent a week at Marina Apartments and I can truly say the accommodation is of the best standard and quality, no cutting corners here! After a hectic day's activity my partner and I just didnt want to go out, just sitting overlooking the sea was so tranquil and peaceful. When we did finally make a move we found loads of excellent restaurants within walking distance, and then of course, back to sea gazing and a night cap. We were so impressed we've already booked again for next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jas0nCher...
Croxley Green, Hertfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, new owners need to continue updating apartment”
Reviewed 8 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in apartment 5, waves. The owner Dawn was very helpful over the phone with my booking, and also sorted out my ferry booking.
The outside of the premises has been recently painted and there is a nice coastal feel inside the apartment. The balcony overlooked Ventnor beach, which was about 100 yards away.
Each apartment has an allocated parking space.
Nice touch having biscuits and milk in the apartment on arrival.
Free wifi (thank you!!) nice variety of games and books in reception.
Good amount of crockery and cutlery. Microwave and toaster. Dated stove.

Problems which need to be addressed by the owners:
The beds are horrendous, creaky and springy, even the bunk beds didn't feel any better, by the time we left, I had a very sore back. The American pull down bed didn't look any better
The pillows are all the same, feather and flat. Duvets had a 2007 date on them, the covers kept opening at night as they had no fasteners on them
The carpets need cleaning, and there's no vacuum cleaner in the apartment..
There is a coin operated meter for electricity, cost us over £10 and most of that on the hot water, and we used that sparingly, didn't even use the stove! It was difficult to understand and definitely put a dampner on our holiday, constantly making sure we had Pound coins.
There is no freezer, the tiny ice section in the fridge couldn't even freeze my ice packs overnight.
Stove needs a good cleaning and kettle needs to be descaled.
Mould around bathroom basin.
Found coins and dirt under the beds, so better cleaning is needed.
Shared washing machine and tumble drier room, token operated. Smells musty and had mould on the walls.
If the owners improve on my above points, it can be a real gem, I am well aware that they have recently taken over the property and I hope they take my criticism as a way to improve and make it a 4* property that it is supposed to be.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and views
Liked least: The beds!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2012
Thanks for your review... we had only taken over for 2 weeks at the time of this review so we agree with most of the comments and already had plans to address most of your feedback.

Since your visit we have already resolved most of these issues including brand new mattresses for all the rooms plus new sofas, chairs and vacuum cleaners. We have already repainted the laundry room and removed the token system. I am surprised at the cost of your electricity and can only assume its because you left the immersion heater on permanently. Other guests have not experienced this problem but we have provided better instructions.

All our guests this summer have been impressed by our new cleaning & maintenance team who are now meeting our own high standards, returning the "sparkle" to Marina Apartments.

As you commented, this place is a real gem. We have had a fantastic start and have already received repeat bookings from nearly all our guests this summer. We hope you will come back and give us another try to see the improvements we have made.

Dawn Giles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike R
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Too good to be true”
Reviewed 7 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

This apartment looked too good to be true when we found it at short notice to escape Olympic London chaos.

The photos suggested that it was a very modern, clean rental, overlooking the sea, with modern fittings - a home for home. Perfect for a family of four, with two demanding teenage children. (Which reminds me, the rental has a good Wifi connection).

The location also seemed excellent - overlooking the sea and a short walk to all the shops, restaurants and pubs. Surely this could not be true? On the Isle of Wight? For how much?

Well, we were amazed. The rental is better than the photos. It has been lovingly created, is in excellent condition and, importantly works well. The owners were friendly, helpful and charming.

This is FAR better than the average rental. We strongly recommend it.

Do we have any suggestions for change / improvement? Not really, as it is far better than most rentals. If you pressed us, some of the local shops and restaurants need to "raise their game" but Londoners don't come to The Island to shop.

We had fantastic weather - much better than on the Mainland. In a restaurant someone said that Ventnor has "French" weather, something to do with the currents and hills sheltering the bay.

As recommendations on things to do, Dad played Golf at Sandown (good quality), and Ventnor (a funky 12 hole with sea views). Mum ran along the coastline. Son copied Bradley Wiggins by cycling up and down the hills. Daughter watched the Olympics (sic) on the good quality TV and lobbied for one like it at home.

We will certainly go back again. We think it's worth going to Ventnor JUST to stay in this perfect little holiday rental. Our only worry is whether we will be able to book at short notice again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing