We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very family friendly”
Honeysuckle Cottage, Chestnut Mews, Family Friendly Self Catering holiday cottage. Shanklin, IOW
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Honeysuckle Cottage, Chestnut Mews, Family Friendly Self Catering holiday cottage. Shanklin, IOW
The Master Bedroom Honeysuckle Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Honeysuckle Cottage, Chestnut Mews, Family Friendly Self Catering holiday cottage. Shanklin, IOW
The Master Bedroom
Honeysuckle Kitchen
The Enclosed Shared  Garden with Jasmine Cottage.
Twin Bedroom
The play area
Small Hope Beach, Shanklin, 10 min walk.
A Chestnut Mews Red Squirrel
Play House
The View of Appley Beach from the Beach path. A ten minute walk from the Chestnut Mews.
Honeysuckle's Decking
Honeysuckle Kitchen
Play time in the Shared garden
With our compliments
Small Hope Beach Huts. Rentable by the day or week.
Laze about on Shanklin Beach.
Play time on Shanklin's Blue Flag Beaches. Only a ten minutes walk away.
Time for Ice-creams !
One of the Islands many feativals, The Ploughing Match
Priory Bay
Family Bathroom
Honeysuckle Cottage Lounge
Shanklin Old Village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JessRB
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very family friendly”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a wonderful time staying in Jasmine Cottage in April and we would definitely stay again. The cottage is really suitable for small children with a cot, stair gates, plenty of toys and a high chair which meant we didn't have to bring a mountain of things with us. Everything was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The cottage is located in a very peaceful area but within easy walking distance of all the amenities and beach in Shanklin and I was 7 months pregnant at the time. We also made use of the indoor pool nearby which was great for our two year old as we had the place to ourselves. The wifi was also exceptionally fast. I would definitely recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reggie266
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Had a wonderful stay at Chestnut Mews. The house was fantastic and my daughter loved the garden with all the toys to play with. The facilities in the house are really good and makes it feel like a home from home. Location just 10 min walk to Shanklin centre is ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisa R
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing cottages - highly recommend”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed for a week over Easter and hired two cottages (Honeysuckle and Clematis). Both were fantastic, spotlessly clean, bedrooms made up as beautiful as the pictures and had very well equipped kitchens. The cottages are large and spacious with a lovely open plan living area and big kitchen with lots of room to put food away and big fridges. The garden was great with the lawn mowed just before we arrived and we even spotted a couple of red squirrels a few mornings. Use of the nearby indoor pool was an added bonus and we even had this to ourselves one afternoon. The location is fantastic - the lovely end of Shanklin and just a short walk to the beach (though a super quick drive if feeling tired or don't want to carry everything). Easy to get to all areas of the Island too - we ventured to the Needles and also Blackgang Chine in our week (no need to listen to reviews of BC being tired, lots has been very recently repainted, new paths, and fab dinosaurs!). Overall highly recommend to all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality as per the pictures and description online
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S
Staines, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic House a real home from home”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed In Chestnut Mews with my husband and two children who are 5 and 2 years old. If you have small children, don't look any further, book this accommodation. It has everything you need from a highchair, toys, stairgates and a fantastic back garden with a great play ground that was very secure. Also the use of a local swimming pool, which is a 2-5 minute walk round the corner, came in handy for bad weather days. This is only small but well heated and clean. The kitchen was well equipped, including plastic plates etc for the kiddies. The whole place was extremely clean and the beds very comfortable. For a rainy day there was a lovely collection of DVD's and games for both adults and children.

The location is extremely good as everything is on your door step. It's only a 2-5 minute walk to the closest shop and pub. The beach is also only a 5-10 minute walk away.

Mandy and Peter were very good in sorting out any problems/questions we had. Also thank you to Mandy's mum for posting the hats we left on the table!! This was done without me even having to ask. We had a fantastic holiday and will be back next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the home from home facilities
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea H
Hook, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Accommodation & Position”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just returned from a weeks stay at Honeysuckle Cottage and can't fault it. It is in an excellent location, just 5 mins walk from restaurants in Shanklin Old Village and great for exploring the rest of the Island, The accommodation is spotlessly clean and plenty big enough for our family of 5. Nice garden at the back for the kids to play in with play equipment which is a nice touch.
Loads to do on the Island and the kids loved Blackgang Chine, which is a nice old fashioned park, and great walk from the cottage to Ventnor along the coastal path, although kids insisted on taxi back!

Peter and Mandy were great to deal with from start to finish and a lot of bigger companies could learn a lot from their prompt communications and friendly approach. We have been to the Island many times and this was probably the best overall experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing