We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
CheapTickets
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveller rating
210
238
109
51
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
210
238
109
51
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews snooker room coach trip isle of wight the cliff dining room swimming pool table tennis premier room evening meal plenty of hot water large room weekend break half board friendly hotel sea front full english breakfast long weekend
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 663 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2021

We arrived bank holiday Monday and after reading some of the reviews were a little dubious. We were greeted by the very helpful reception ladies who, despite an issue with the laundrette, ensured that our room was ready ASAP.

The pool, staff and location are fantastic... special mention to Alfie who was brilliant too.

We will definitely return!!

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KathrynL142
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2021

We booked a sea view family room…..our room 123 was quite large with dual aspect, one window looking at the sea the other window to the side, full of scaffolding with two men painting right outside. The bathroom was large, with a shower over the bath but in a very awkward position, consequently water was all over the floor after showering. The floor in the bathroom was very dirty and discoloured, even found a gusset covering in the corner of the room. The carpet in the bedroom definitely had not been hovered between guests.
We booked breakfast and evening dinner…. one week before we went, I had an email to say they were not doing food, so we had room only. So then we spent a lot of our holiday looking for somewhere to eat, so many places were just fully booked.
We were hoping to enjoy the heated indoor swimming pool…..but even asking how to get to the pool, nobody told us that it was closed. We then saw a sign on a window outside the pool saying it will be open next week, bit this notice had been there for a while.
Car parking….. 10 spaces, for a hotel with quite a few rooms…..good luck in finding parking around the hotel area.
Location…..brilliant ‼️

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Lynette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

We can't speak highly enough about gibbons coach company, Our Driver Andrew went above and beyond his duties gave us excellent time. trying to organise the hotel staff at meal times and making sure we had our meals on time when he could. he took us on our trips and extras a fantastic theatre trip that was special.

The ocean view hotel the lift was broken down on & off throughout the week so meant us walking up 3 flights of stairs, my husband walking on crutches so this was very hard.hotel is lacking in staff which means meals times was a lot of waiting,the food was burnt and bland,repeated menu through the week always running out of bread etc, as the only use thin bread toast was to crunchy and hard and cold, Our room was 218 was great really big loverly walk in shower plenty of tea,coffee,sugar hair dryer tv, the only down side of room was the balcony was our of action as a big hole in it, so we were not allowed on the balcony,the view was spectacular. Its a shame the hotel did not have any welcome packs in the room which would have been better to inform you of were to visit and directions, meal times and menus
If it wasn't for our driver Andrew of gibbons coaches this trip would have been a total disaster for the price.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jostewart299
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2021

I came to the Isle of Wight for the first time with my boyfriend, we are in our mid-20's. I definitely get the sense that this hotel is widely used by families or the older generations.

Honestly, after reading these reviews I am quite surprised, unless we got lucky?!

The reception staff were super helpful. The guy at the desk always pleasant, 2 women a different time were happy to chat. Another young woman offering to ring a cab company for us another time (we weren't quite sure who to call with the lack of ubers- millennial problems I guess haha). We were keen to explore the island, we didn't have a car so did everything by bus and the receptionists were happy to give us advice and provide us with bus time booklets. We were checked in right on time.

I will agree that breakfast could do with a bit more variety in terms of options. The youngsters who served us were polite and trying really hard. Some seemed nervous or a bit muddled but this really wasn't a problem. Maybe they are still new and just passing the time with a summer job. At least they are doing their bit to earn a bit of extra cash over the holidays!

We booked a deluxe room and got a spacious room with a gorgeous ocean view (2nd floor)! The rooms were cleaned everyday. I would say it is an average looking room but again we were barely in all day as we were bouncing around to different places so really wasn't an issue.

Overall, we were quite satisfied with our stay and absolutley zero problems! Great location for a hotel, gorgeous views and one hell of a workout climbing up that bloody hill a few times a day!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CGMC99
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2021

We booked this place for the facilities which included a swimming pool and had a dining area for breakfast and evening meals.

Upon arrival we was told the pool was closed until further notice as they had had an accident in the pool so needed to be emptied so even though we were disappointed we thought we will make the best of our holiday.

The next thing to happen was we was told the lift was broken and when we asked a member of staff about evening meals we were told the menu wasn't correct anymore and it wasn't that good so we starting thinking if they had issues here.

At the end of our first day we decided to go down to the entertainment room and see what was on but was told it had been cancelled due to a coach load of people that had arrived late and they needed to feed them. So off we went to bed and looked forward to our next day.

We woke up aching from the bed it is so hard and uncomfortable. We hiwent down to the dining area for breakfast which was chaos, people waiting for food not being served very quickly and looking like there was no organisation.after asking for our breakfast because nobody was serving us our breakfast arrived and the waiter dropped a full
rack of toast on the floor in front of us. When he returned with a new rack of toast it was harder than a rock to bite into so must of been standing a week before.

The second day we woke up in agony with our backs from the awful beds. We went to the dining area to see a sign saying breakfast was cancelled for self drives and only available for coaches. We walk away to find they have employed a painter to paint the walls inside and wet paint signs everywhere.

The list goes on I could write a book about the place only there is nothing positive to read unfortunately so my advice to anyone is avoid this place if you want to enjoy yourselves this place wants shutting.

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank A2809MFpauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews