We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
Lunch in the garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lunch in the garden.
Entrance path Thatched cottage a couple of minutes walk away.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Lunch in the garden.
Entrance path
Thatched cottage a couple of minutes walk away.
Arrived !
The lounge with double size sofa/pull out bed
The lounge with double size sofa/pull out bed
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom with king size bed
King sized bed
Bathroom
Bathroom with separate bath and shower
Shared garden area
Shared garden area
Seasonal flowers
Big Mead duck pond
Big Mead
St Blasius Church (nearby)
Pond at the nearby Big Mead
Some more Old Village thatched properties
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shanklin, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kholex
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Sorry for the late posting - stayed here in July this year and the accommodation was great.

Perfect location, perfect accommodation and perfect cake! Would recommend to anyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2014
Wonderful comments which are very pleasing to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youhumit
Churchdown, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lives up to its 5 star reviews”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Accommodation: very clean, modern facilities including flat screen TV in lounge & bedroom, good wifi speed, lashings of hot water (and central heating), fully equipped kitchen; large and very comfortable bed! The only comment is that the upstairs flat is permanently let and we occasionally heard footsteps and door closing from above, but nothing to be concerned about. The owners are extremely helpful and mostly on-hand for any queries.

Location: the Courtyard, which is an annexe to the owners' large period house, is situated in a quiet urban area just above old Shanklin town, which is very close by. The terrain to the beach, however, is downhill and a steep uphill climb back again. A lift is available at one location and steps at several others.

Value for money: definitely! If we can't find fault, or have a moan about a place within the first day then it lives up to our exacting standards. Many thanks to Richard and Mirian for the extra little touches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good, central, location to Shanklin old town
Liked least: No disappointments, apart from the weather in October!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2014
Very pleased that the Courtyard provided those extras things that makes a holiday a little more special. We continually strive to maintain the accommodation to a standard that we would hope to find when we go on holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anacapri9
norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Have just spent 2 weeks at Courtyard Cottage had a wonderfull stay ,the living accomadation is ideal everything you could need is at hand,really enjoyed Mirams cakes they were delicious and Richards helpful information.There is a very nice garden to sit in if you get the weather it was changeable when we were there.Shanklin is a lovely town the Courtyard is very near the old town which has several restaurants and gardens.If you would like to see red squirrels then the best place we found was Alverstone Mead where there is a hide we saw several there.A nice restaurant was at Ryde called Michelangelo but they get very busy it is not cheap but the food is worth it, the one thing we did find on the island is that food was more expensive and not always good quality.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2014
Delighted that the little extras including the cakes made the stay at The Courtyard enjoyable. Our aim is to do all we can to ensure that it is a home from home holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krefeld
Reviewed 20 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a home away from home!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Wonderful comments on The Courtyard and our hospitality.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Fred K
Gent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Location and Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The Courtyard is in an ideal situation within easy walking distance of Old Shanklin and nearby shops and restaurants. The apartment is accessed through the very attractive and colourful garden where seating and facilities for outdoor dining are provided. There is designated off road parking which is such an asset.

The apartment itself is very well appointed, scrupulously clean and contains everything one would want for a home from home style holiday. Much consideration has been given by the owners, Richard and Miriam, in providing lots of thoughtful items, which are not always found in other rental properties.

We appreciated the free WiFi and also the shelf of books. We read three between us! Also provided is a selection of current holiday information booklets, some of which contain money off admission vouchers to places of interest.

The kitchen is geared up for cooking and making picnics, both of which we did. Miriam and Richard kindly provided tea, coffee, sugar and in the fridge, milk and bottles of squash and water. In a tin on the worktop was a wonderful surprise - a homemade jam and cream sponge cake which was delicious and lovely to come back to each day!

The bedroom is quiet and the King size bed very comfortable. Plenty of drawer and hanging space is provided plus extra pillows, duvets, blankets etc should you need them.

We enjoyed touring the island and particularly recommend visiting The Needles and Batteries with exhibitions, Osborne House and Model Village. We drove along the coast roads and found many pretty villages with stunning views of the sea.

We thoroughly recommend dining at FINE NAMMET, Shanklin. We ate there twice because of the whole taste, texture, presentation experience. The young owners are the Chef and Front of House. Book to make sure of a table. We also ate at MAMMA MIA'S, Shanklin, a good Italian restaurant whose owner was very obliging with a meal choice.

Having visited most of the other towns on the island we feel that Old Shanklin is a really good base for touring the island or staying put. Shanklin has lots to offer with something for everyone.

We have no hesitation in recommending The Courtyard, which we will do, and would be happy to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lived up to expectation
Liked least: Lack of a dishwasher
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
We are very pleased that we were able to add to the enjoyment of your holiday with your stay at The Courtyard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$79
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing