We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (61)
Filter reviews
61 results
Traveller rating
34
13
2
1
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
13
2
1
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely family runwould highly recommend this hotellovely hotelexcellent locationisland
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 61 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

My daughter visited this hotel on her school trip.

Despite speaking to the hotel and making sure her needs were met, she still was ill. She has coeliac disease and her needs were not met.

I have had this confirmed by my daughter and the head of my school!

On contacting the hotel after to discuss I found them very rude and obnoxious towards me. Would not recommend this hotel at all.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank MarieNewbold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Having just come back from my first visit to the island i cannot wait to go back, and would defiantly book this hotel again. We received a great welcome from the owners. I had book two single rooms for my elderly father and myself and was told on arrival that due to a leaking roof we would be given a double (which i received as the single room being at ground level would be better for my father) at no extra charge which was much appreciated. The food was excellent with a good choice available, nothing was to much trouble for the owners. I must say a big thank you to Bernard for a recommending a visit the Brading Roman Villa which i found fascinating and thoroughly enjoyed.

I would highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank evansjde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

I had booked in to stay at the Curraghmore Hotel in August with my wife and kids during our vist in Aug 2016 to Isle of Wight (First timers to the island))

I called the hotel to see if I can have a fridge during my stay to which they agreed and wanted help to carry the fridge to the room (Which was fine). When I arrived I was told the fridge was broken, which again was not a problem.

The hotel I think is run by the owners, who need to learn what Customer Hospitality means! The Rooms were terrible, one of them did not even have a shower only a bath. Both rooms were in appalling state.

I had bought some Chinese noodles for lunch from home and wanted to eat in our rooms. I was told that we were not allowed to eat in the rooms and were given disposable plates and cutlery to eat in the bar area (Which again was fine with us). I asked the owner, if I can use some of the metal cutlery (folks and spoons) that were laid in the next table and with a lot of attitude the owner said he would need to charge me for using there metal spoons. All this happen within a few hours of arriving with my kids, and the whole holiday experience for my family was bitter. My kids wanted to leave back for home

Given I was staying in the Island for 3 nights/ 4 days, I inquired about cancelling the room, to which the owner said they cannot refund anything (I had already paid in full). Subsequently the owner said they will reduce 1 night stay and refund the rest to which I agreed. (They in turn decided to state No Show on the booking.com website.)

The only reason guest may go to this hotel is due to its location, however there are many decent hotels with pool and are proper 3 star and above that are much cheaper than this. (I had booked 2 rooms for 3 nights at £550). I

I wanted to write this review, so that others dont get ripped off and spoil there holiday with families given the worst customer service and hotel I have experienced. (I did not realize hotels like this were still run in the UK and the authorities may want to see if this is actually a 3 star Hotel as advertised)

Room Tip: 'Please do not book Curraghmore Hotel, unless you want a holiday from hell'
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank hazmarfauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2016

Thank you for your review however may I reply to 1 or 2 things , first we are not and do not advertise as a 3 star hotel nor do we advertise that we have self catering rooms.
When you arrived you were shown the rooms , you had asked for them to be next to each other and the only ones we had were the ones shown to you ,at the time your reply on seeing the rooms and there location was that they were great , perfect as the children would feel safe in the room next to you ,I informed you that as the children were so young under 7 or 8 I think , that they must not be in a room without an adult you did not like this but agreed that you would sleep 1 adult and 1 child in a room.I do not understand why the change in attitude , now the rooms are terrible . I said at the start of this reply we do not offer self catering , you turned up with a meal from home and expected us to heat it , serve it and provide cutlery and a place to eat it all at no cost, as I say we do not offer that service and do not expect guests to bring meals and ask favours as you did ,in common with most hotels we do not allow take away food to be eaten in the rooms because of the lingering smell and waste that gets left behind .As for showing you as a no show on booking.com you did not sleep at the hotel and they do not to my knowledge have any way of showing this other than a no show.
I am pleased but very surprised that you found a hotel that would do all of the above for you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Big thanks to Bernard and Leslie for making us Welcome food was good and the rooms have been refurbished since we stayed in 2011 shower needs some attention but all in all a good value for money friendly hotel x well done xxx

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Jeane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

This was our first time staying at this hotel. Our friends having been staying there for years and would not stay anywhere else on the Isle of Wight. Bernie & Lesley can't do enough for their guests and nothing is too much trouble for them they go out of their way to accommodate their guests. The rooms were clean tidy and very tastefully decorated. We would recommend full board as dinner was very good and the menu extensive.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sea view.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kaye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Dear Kaye Thank you for your lovely review,we are glad you had a great time with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon Regards Bernie & Lesley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews