We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper Pizza”

Hectors Artisan Pizzeria
Ranked #15 of 28 Restaurants in Dunbar
Price range: US$6 - US$18
Description: Artisan pizzeria using the finest locally sourced ingredients. Full traceability from farm to plate.
Restaurant details
Description: Artisan pizzeria using the finest locally sourced ingredients. Full traceability from farm to plate.
Reviewed 11 June 2021 via mobile

Do you know how hard it is to get a proper decent pizza these days. This was tasty as. If I lived in Dunbar I’d be in there at least once a week.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Fearless63929028655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2021

First time in Hectors and we were very impressed. Pizza dough/crust very tasty, thin bottom and not too hard a crust, toppings very tasty. We had the njuda one, meatballs one and a ham one - all excellent. Service super efficient too and very nice interior. Will definitely go back next time in Dunbar.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 220caras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2021 via mobile

The waitress was very attentive and seemed to be working very hard to keep all the tables happy. She had her mask on at all times and washed her hands appropriately. It stops there from a covid security perspective sadly. Two staff, you younger bald chap and a dark haired boy walked about in the restaurant area without face covering. The open plan kitchen facing the tables made it impossible not to notice most staff had no face coverings at all and certainly didn't observe anything in respect of social distancing. The ones who did have masks used them as chin straps and pushed them up there faces as and when they did use them. I guess face covers interupt the ability to eat and I did observebone eatind icecream and two more munching pizza. Not sure what the rules are regards eating in areas where food is being prepared but as I didn't see anyone othervthan the waitress clean her hands it was very off putting. The final straw came when the younger bald chap pushed the front of his papper mask up his faceby touching the front panel. Obviously that is the area contaminated with respiratory droplets so for him then to start sorting cutlery into the tubs that go on tables was very concerning. There seemed to be several young dark haired staff, one who was either proping up the pole or structure that support the upstair area, tiuching lots of surfaces and not cleaning his gands once. There was also a sence of hirseplay at one point amongst the kitchen staff. The food was ok but experience awful given the current context. Less staff who behave appropriately is a must and we won't be back.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank X6540GCalisonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dostania, Owner at Hectors Artisan Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2021

Hi Karen, we’re gutted your dining experience wasn’t 5 star!

We always aim to deliver great food and service to our customers whilst providing a safe dining environment - especially during current circumstances ref Covid.

We would love to have you back and promise next time there will be neigh hirseplay.

All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2021

Been here for lunch today and it's a real find. Cracking pizzas with every ingredient sourced locally (within 30 miles), friendly efficient service and a nice atmosphere. Definitely recommended

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Graeme W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2021 via mobile

We went walked by and took a chance going in. So happy we did! Excellent service and amazing food. Next time we are in the area we will be back.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank debo1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hectors Artisan Pizzeria also viewed

Dunbar, East Lothian
Dunbar, East Lothian
 

Been to Hectors Artisan Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.