We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place!”
other travellers have booked this property
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Holywood Hill in Winter (Jan 2016) Cottages in Winter (Jan 2016)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Holywood Hill in Winter (Jan 2016)
Cottages in Winter (Jan 2016)
Entrance to cottages with view over reservoir (Jan 2016)
Ballydavey Cottage - Large double bedroom with picture window - views of Belfast Lough
Ballydavey Cottage - Living area, comfortable, fully equipped with Large TV, Free WIFI
Ballydavey Cottage - Bright, open plan dining area with view of Belfast Lough
Ballycultra Cottage - Dining area and access to balcony
Ballycultra Cotage - Open plan, modern, fully equipped kitchen
Ballydavey Cottage - Double bedroom, great space and personal touches for a comfortable stay
Ballycultra Cottage - Large Double Bedroom with original artwork
Ballydavey Cottage - Large modern bathroom, with hot water via the solar heating system
Holywood Hill Country Cottages - A homely, welcome entrance
Ballydavey Cottage - Large Twin Bedroom with built in wardrobe and wall mounted TV
View from Ballycultra Cottage Balcony - Uninterrupted Views of Belfast Lough
Ballycultra Cottage - View from bedroom - as far as the eye can see
Ballycultra Cottage - Modern bathroom, design panels, towel rail and illuminated mirror
Ballycultra Cottage - Single bedroom lots of storage space for those little extras
Ballycultra Cottage - Lots of Built in storage to maximise space for your comfort
High Chair - available free of charge for our little visitors
Children very welcome to Holywood Hill Country Cottages
Pine cot with bed linen available free of charge for our tiny guests
Original watercolour painting a present to us from one of our guests - view from Ballycultra Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holywood, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
helandcol
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
Reviewed 7 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our extended family stayed in both cottages for 5 days whilst in Belfast for a wedding. What a lovely location! Beautiful views across the sea (we could even see Scotland on clear days) and so peaceful.

The cottages were both done to a high specification, with very well equipped kitchens with oven, hob, dishwasher, fridge and microwave. The bathrooms were also very modern with powerful over-bath showers and hot towel rails. Everywhere was spotlessly clean.

There is a separate laundry room which has a washing machine, tumble drier and freezers, plus lots of games for children and DVDs that you can borrow. All the washing powder and dishwasher tablets are provided.

Wendy had left a lovely welcome basket when we arrived with bread, butter, milk etc, and fresh eggs are available (when the chickens are laying!) each morning from the laundry room.

Great hosts, great value, great trip!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely summary of our cottages. We have had a number of families coming for a family event and renting both cottages, it's great when everyone can stay together. Thanks again. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard12...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 26 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

On arrival to Ballydavey cottage we were met by Wendy who showed us around. The Welcome basket was very much appreciated after our long journey. The cottage itself was more than what we expected. It was spotlessly clean and the views are exceptional.
Wendy and her family were all very friendly. We are already planning our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views, cleanliness, peacefulness
Liked least: leaving to come home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thanks a million for a great review. Looking forward to seeing you all, relaxing and enjoying your holiday again next year. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NeilMac58
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb property in stunning location”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We rented both properties whilst visiting NI for our son's wedding.
The properties are fitted and furnished to an exceptionally high standard - Wendy's partner who is a builder and did the work is obviously a perfectionist, and Wendy has got the comfort levels decor bed and sofa wise just right.
On arrival we were greeted by Wendy who guided us around the property and gave us a very welcome basket of basics including beautiful eggs.
The kitchen is fully stocked with equipment utensils and appliances. My only comment is that the frying pan was a little small but hey! worth the wait for those eggs.
HH sits on an elevated position and views to sea are fab.
We didn't see much of Holywood the town as Belfast was close enough to visit a few times - a great town, like a younger brother to Glasgow. Very friendly indeed.
A bonus which we loved was the beautiful pets - a gorgeous smoky kitten and an old mournful GSD - missing a departed buddy - sad to hear.
Overall, can't fault. You'll need a car or taxi (cheap and ultra friendly) to get there but that's what you need for gorgeous rural locations.
Total recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
Thanks for a lovely review, we're glad your family could all stay together in our two cottages for your son's wedding. Glad the eggs were tasty.... and you will be pleased to know that after your comment, we now have a large frying pan in the cottage (not sure where it went to?) Thanks again. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisboeta5...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“FABULOUS ACCOMMODATION - WE'LL BE BACK FOR SURE”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

It is remiss of me not to have written before but I live between several European cities and my admin slips from time to time. We rented the lower Ballydavey Cottage for a few days during a family celebration. From my first meeting with Wendy I knew we were in for a treat. To say it is a cottage is not quite correct - our accommodation was more than ample with a double bed and a selection of single beds in the 2nd bedroom. The booking and confirmation was easy, the directions clear and we were warmly welcomed by David on our arrival. He took the time to show us the important things around the cottage. We were delighted by the personal touches around the cottage eg the fresh eggs, the get you in grocery pack, the notes in the utility room encouraging us to borrow books or the Wi. There is a shared laundry facility which we did not use, but are aware of for a future visit. The views over Belfast Lough were stunning and although you can see aircraft departing and landing at Belfast City airport a few miles away, there is no aircraft noise at all. It was a great bolthole to come back to after busy days with extended families and we appreciated having our own space. It is like a home from home and the kitchen is remarkably well appointed. Our only other point is that the double bed is a sleigh bed style and therefore the end of it is not the most comfortable for taller guests. However, that will not detract us from booking this superb, clean comfortable accommodation again. Other family guests stayed elsewhere in the area and were all jealous of our find - need I say anymore?!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Personal attention to guests, felt like a home from home, cleanliness, easy parking
Liked least: Perhaps a larger bed might be considered for the master bedroom.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Holywood Hill and for your lovely comments, and photographs. We do love watching the planes come into Belfast, and you are quite right, even when outside the cottages we never hear any aircraft noise. You are the first visitors to mention the sleigh bed being slightly uncomfortable for our taller guests and this is something we hadn't even thought of, so thank you for bringing this to our attention, we really value your comments and will certainly bear this in mind when we are replacing the bed in the future. Best wishes for your travels, and it would be lovely to see you again. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel C
London
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely, highly recommend.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked and stayed here as part of a visit home to Ireland and were very impressed. The apartment was more like a little cottage, well fitted out, well finished and absolutely immaculate, I couldn't fault it and the owners were very friendly. Gorgeous area, handy to Belfast and the coast and parks. Take a walk in Creightons wood also it's beautiful.

the facilities area also good especially if you have kids, lots of books, toys and a washing machine and dryer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Finish of the apartment and location
Liked least: couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thanks a million for your lovely comments, we really appreciate it. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing