We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, highly recommend.”
other travellers have booked this property
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Holywood Hill in Winter (Jan 2016) Cottages in Winter (Jan 2016)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Holywood Hill (Summer 2016)
Holywood Hill in Winter (Jan 2016)
Cottages in Winter (Jan 2016)
Entrance to cottages with view over reservoir (Jan 2016)
Ballydavey Cottage - Large double bedroom with picture window - views of Belfast Lough
Ballydavey Cottage - Living area, comfortable, fully equipped with Large TV, Free WIFI
Ballydavey Cottage - Bright, open plan dining area with view of Belfast Lough
Ballycultra Cottage - Dining area and access to balcony
Ballycultra Cotage - Open plan, modern, fully equipped kitchen
Ballydavey Cottage - Double bedroom, great space and personal touches for a comfortable stay
Ballycultra Cottage - Large Double Bedroom with original artwork
Ballydavey Cottage - Large modern bathroom, with hot water via the solar heating system
Holywood Hill Country Cottages - A homely, welcome entrance
Ballydavey Cottage - Large Twin Bedroom with built in wardrobe and wall mounted TV
View from Ballycultra Cottage Balcony - Uninterrupted Views of Belfast Lough
Ballycultra Cottage - View from bedroom - as far as the eye can see
Ballycultra Cottage - Modern bathroom, design panels, towel rail and illuminated mirror
Ballycultra Cottage - Single bedroom lots of storage space for those little extras
Ballycultra Cottage - Lots of Built in storage to maximise space for your comfort
High Chair - available free of charge for our little visitors
Children very welcome to Holywood Hill Country Cottages
Pine cot with bed linen available free of charge for our tiny guests
Original watercolour painting a present to us from one of our guests - view from Ballycultra Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holywood, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Rachel C
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely, highly recommend.”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We booked and stayed here as part of a visit home to Ireland and were very impressed. The apartment was more like a little cottage, well fitted out, well finished and absolutely immaculate, I couldn't fault it and the owners were very friendly. Gorgeous area, handy to Belfast and the coast and parks. Take a walk in Creightons wood also it's beautiful.

the facilities area also good especially if you have kids, lots of books, toys and a washing machine and dryer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Finish of the apartment and location
Liked least: couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2015
Thanks a million for your lovely comments, we really appreciate it. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemralph
UK
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My mother booked this for us and we stayed in both cottages as part of a group visiting Holywood for a family wedding. My husband, myself and two daughters had the upstairs cottage which was fantastic. The place was absolutely spotless and so well appointed. Wendy had left us a lovely welcome basket along with fresh eggs from the hens. Our daughters had a great time seeing the chicks, kittens and playing on the trampoline. We would love to come again for longer and maybe explore the area a bit more. The downstairs cottage, which other family members stayed in, was equally as good and I know they were very impressed too.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2015
We're chuffed you were impressed with both cottages for your family visit and thank you for such a lovely review. It was great to see the girls running about, playing in the garden having fun. The kittens are all going to their 'forever homes' this week and maybe next time you visit the fresh eggs in the welcome basket will be from the little baby chicks. Take care. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bregagh
Armoy, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Holywood more like Hollywood”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

It has all been said before, and they are correct, this place is perfect in every way. It is impossible to find a fault, hurry up and get it booked, soon everyone will want to stay here! Ours was a very last minute thing and they were perfectly prepared. Ps thanks for the welcome basket a priceless touch

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2015
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and encouraging people to book with us. We did enjoy the 'Hollywood' comment! Glad we were organised and ready to take your booking at a few hours notice. It was lovely to meet your family. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillian B
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Highly impressed with the cottage we booked at Holywood Hills through Wendy.
It's stylish, spotlessly clean and her attention to detail was second to none.
Wendy left us a very useful welcome basket and gave us fresh eggs from her hens.
Plenty of extra supplies of pillows and blankets and everything from tea towels to washing liquid for the laundry were available. All the appliances are modern and clean and a very functional kitchen with a family sized seating area. A fantastic location for children of all ages or romantic break for couples too.
The views are stunning and the location is great for trips to Belfast city centre, Helens Bay and Bangor etc.. Loads of amentities in the area-grocery stores, shopping and tourist attractions.
The only downside — we had to leave!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, and for the lovely gift you left us - very thoughtful and kind. The little blue beach spade you also left has been added to the books and toys in the laundry room for our future 'little' visitors. We enjoyed meeting you all and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
irishwate...
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“superb accomodation, stunning views, warm hospitality”
Reviewed 10 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Exactly as described, but even better than expected. Spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and furnished.Helpful hosts. well thought out welcome pack. The eggs from the resident hens were delicious.Within a few minutes walk of a country park and a short drive to all main amenities.
We can honestly say, without doubt, that this is the best self-catering accomodation we have stayed in anywhere in the world .
Well done!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: clean, well equipped, modern accomodation,tastefully decorated.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2014
Overwhelmed once more with this lovely review. What a compliment! Thanks so much. David and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing