We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
69
103
60
49
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
69
103
60
49
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach trip coach party some tlc bit dated room was clean and comfortable hotel is situated weekend break plenty of choice twin room couldn't do enough great weekend town centre entertainment kayleigh seafront singer seagulls
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed there 9th/12th November with a coach party of 22. The hotel is quite small but is very welcoming, clean and the rooms are well equipped. The bathroom had both shower and Jacuzzi bath. We were celebrating our anniversary and the travel agent asked for a nice room and that is what we had. The staff seemed to be training so at times were very slow but the food and service was more than acceptable. A definite gem.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed here at the beginning of October with a coach party of 33. There does seem to be a lack of staff but the ones that are there are always very helpful and pleasant. The bedrooms seem to vary in size, some doubles seem to be on the small side whilst others are perfectly adequate. My room had 2 single beds, 2 bedside cabinets, double wardrobe, chest of drawers, 2 chairs and a luggage stand, at no point did I feel I was in a cramped space. The bathroom was very modern. Facilities in the room included a flat screen tv, kettle and a selection of tea and coffee.
Breakfast. Comprised of cereal, fruit or fruit juice buffet style, followed by full English or any combination of a full English served by a waitress, toasters were provided in order to make your own toast and tea and coffee were served at the table.
Dinner. 3 courses all with table service. There wasn't a bad meal on any of the 4 evenings.
The hotel is about a 4 minute walk to the sea, and about an 8 minute walk to the shops (ask at reception and they should be able to tell you about the short cut which takes you through a little park).
As someone has mentioned the drinks are expensive, there again they are in most hotels, although a bottle of wine at £15 in my opinion is a good price for a hotel.
As I've mentioned before there is a lack of staff, I feel the management should employ a few more staff and take the pressure of the staff that they have, as they are extremely pleasant, polite and helpful considering they have to do more than one job role.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank jays63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

The hotel was very welcoming, the room was clean, spacious and the bathroom was excellent, it had a good shower with plenty of room.
We ate in the hotel and the food was extremely good.
Overall the hotel was clean and the staff very friendly

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKayley, General Manager at Torbay Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for writing such a fantastic review. We really appreciate your lovely comments and I shall pass them on to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Our twin room lacked storage space. One single wardrobe, and two small bedside cabinets. Flat screen tv, the beds were clean and comfortable. On arrival the carpet had not been vacuumed. The room was very cold, the heating was not put on for very long. There was a lack of staff, reception was very seldom manned. The dining room was clean, meals were average, not very exciting. Ian worked very hard. Entertainment was very enjoyable.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Des1740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKayley, General Manager at Torbay Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Torbay Court Hotel. Our staff work hard throughout the hotel so a bell is located at reception to call a member of staff whilst they maybe away from the reception desk. If you had mentioned your room was cold we would have been more than happy to assist in turning the heating up or providing extra heat. I do hope we can welcome you again in the not too distant future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

After reading reviews on here I was dreading staying here...the negative comments on here are not warranted ...this hotel is clean comfortable lovely food our room was lovely and I enjoyed my stay here...also staff are very helpful to your needs...

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Dollybevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMKayley, General Manager at Torbay Court Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Thank you for your review of your recent stay. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and will pass your comments onto our hard working team. We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews