We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
312
59
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
312
59
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huevos rancheros family run hotel plenty of parking on arrival goodrington sands warm welcome lovely hotel breakfast menu balcony room recommend this hotel an evening meal steep hill comfortable lounge well stocked bar kippers the bank holiday weekend full english
Filter
Updating list...
158 - 163 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2015

special weekend away

First impressions were reasonable but place needs updating it was a bit oldey woldey threw out,
our room 7 smelt of drains and was a lot of noisy neighbours ferreting about early morning too which woke us early,there was a balcony but very small and confusing which could be reached by climbing out the window/door which wasn't really enticing .

room seamed all clean but not sure the cleaner knows how to look up as picture rail and chandelier was thick with dust etc which was directly above the bed so not good.

we did complain and were given room 28 which was far better all round a part from the bathroom again needs updating.

1st morning breakfast wasn't good , pretty much the worst we had in the bay slightly confusing menu too,
over done warmed up bacon ,fried bread/musrooms not good,no hash browns or plum tomato ,pork sausage hard but not over cooked ? ,cumberland ,beans,fried tomato fine but uncooked fried eggs.
tea coffee /fruitjuice fine.

2nd morning breakfast was selected a little more carefully but still poor.

would of preferred to have seen a continental breakfast buffet option help yourself job.

we didn't feel the stay was worth the money

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank peregrine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Such a lovely hotel - peaceful and relaxing. Very clean and comfortable and the staff are all extremely welcoming and friendly. We stayed for a week and everything was consistently good. The food is absolutely marvellous. Have stayed here twice before and will definately stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in large, sunny front room with superb sea views.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015

Wanting our Canadian visitors to sample "the English Riviera", we chose Paignton as our base for a short visit to beautiful Devon. We were delighted to discover the Summerhill hotel and found it to be a lovely spot. The warm welcome (complete with tea) was followed by a great recommendation for fish and chips in nearby Brixham. Our room on the first floor was clean and very comfortable. It was also well stocked with treats such as hot chocolate, various teas (including fruit teas), bottled water etc. The shelves and hooks in the bathroom were thoughtful touches that were greatly appreciated. The choice on the breakfast menu was extensive and tasty. All in all, a lovely spot!

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CanadianinUK2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2015

Summerhill is an excellent location for a short or long break in Paignton and the lovely Torbay area. It is within an easy walk of the station (or a short taxi ride with luggage), the lovely cliff walks, and Paignton harbour. The room we stayed in was excellent and roomy, plus a balcony. The service is excellent and friendly. The cuisine is outstanding - breakfasts were first class and the evening dining that we sampled on our last night was exceptional.

Room Tip: Some rooms have balconies with great views, but there are plenty of communal areas from which to see the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Iwan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

I have been staying at Summerhill Hotel for many years now and have always enjoyed my annual visit which is why I come back again and again. The room is very comfortable with everything easily on hand. The breakfast is delicious and there is a varied choice. The evening meal is freshly cooked by a superb chef and nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms will get a sea view
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CarolynGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews