We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice cosy house, great stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Split Wood - 5 mins walk Kitchen with all add ons
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Split Wood - 5 mins walk
Kitchen with all add ons
Comfy Sitting Room with large log fire
Sleigh bed master bedroom - 17 Seconds
Twin room facing North to the hills and church
The hill behind - 10 mins
Attic for all the smalls
The hill over the other side - 15 minutes - rainbow not guaranteed
Westgate from the north
High Force Waterfall - 25 minuts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Fechti F
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice cosy house, great stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Black Dog House is a welcoming,cosy, comfortable home from home providing ideal accommodation for a larger party.We spent a brilliant December week with family . We even had half a day of snow. Great ambience - blazing log fire and woodburner. Children's playground opposite and super walks from Cottage door.15 mins to the Weardale Railway Polar Express trip and Stanhope.
We had everything we needed and more in this well equipped house. The only issue we had was with the door locks, we struggled a few times getting the door open or closed.
Also a very very special thank you to the housekeeper who was very friendly and even helped us finding a lost child's IPad.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thanks for your review Anje, and so glad you enjoyed your stay. I'll pass on your kind thoughts to Linda the Housekeeper, and we have now indeed sorted the sticky locks. look forward to hopefully seeing you another time. All the best, Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley C
1 review
“Very homely a must”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Excellent home Black Dog House very well equipped all you need, ample space. Fabulous log fire of an evening. Unfortunately rained most of the time we where there but didn't stop us still got out walking every day, our little dog had great fun. Visit the pub across the road is a must very welcoming and they do great food, huge portion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: plenty of space and very homely
Liked least: nothing other than the weather didn't really stop raining, just one of those things I'm afraid! !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Many thanks Lesley and glad all had a good time and big plates of grub. Sorry I couldn't order better weather, but as you say, it is grand just to be out in such beautiful unspoilt countryside; sometimes the weather seems to enhance it!

Would love to see you back and would happily give a nice discount for a returning customer.

All the best,

Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatange
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Well, what can I say? Yet another fabulous week away at our favourite house in our favourite place. We had a fantastic time as usual...comfy beds, toasty hot heating, wonderful open fire and lots if fun and games. Lush food in the pub across the road and they even put up with us all arriving in our PJs! Can't wait for our summer jaunt.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2015
You'll always be more than welcome Angela, PJ's or otherwise. Nice discount for the summer time visit if you're up for it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny H
Saint-Front-sur-Lemance, France
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Magical house in Westgate, weardale”
Reviewed 19 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Black Dog House is a welcoming,cosy, comfortable quality home from home providing ideal accommodation for large party.We spent a magical December weekend with a family Chrissy dinner and snow falling to add atmosphere,enhanced by blazing log fire and woodburner. Children's playground opposite for Xmas treasure hunt.Super walks from Cottage door.15 mins to the Weardale Railway Polar Express trip and Stanhope Christmas Market.(06.12.2014) Pub across road.What more could one ask for!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable furnishings and homely feel.
Liked least: Pub closed at 9pm on Sunday in December.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2014
Thank you so much for such a good review and also for taking the time to be informative. Good to know we are an alternative early Christmas venue as well! Hope to see you back another time with a juicy discount that isn't a turkey...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew B
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite what we expected”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My wife has already submitted a review of the premises, (ScotlandGalaxy) and we attended together with her parents. I fully support my wife's review, and confirm that everything she said was accurate and honest. I felt her review was fair and more positive than negative, and was surprised that the owner suggested that any one interested in hiring the cottage only read the positive reviews ..... I absolutely don't agree with that. As he said - you can't please everyone all of the time, but it is only fair that all views be allowed to be voiced. I would point out that we did have initial problems when making the booking, but it was all sorted in the end, which is what my wife said. The facilities were pretty good but very dated. The seats in the sitting room were VERY uncomfortable. The dust and dog hairs was pretty ridiculous. Cleaning of lower surfaces definitely needs to be addressed.
We ended up leaving a day prior to expected because we really couldn't find anything else to do ..... Disappointing if you don't plan your stay, or can't walk very far.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nothing really
Liked least: The dirty condition of the premises
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2014
Good to see you supporting your wife's view, as this is very important in life!

We'd love to see you back again to show that it is indeed a lovely place to stay and that you don't really need to plan. We have a number of options, maps and suggestions in our comprehensive folders at the House so with a bit of imagination one can easily enjoy the wonderful and unspoilt countryside.

I did refer to other good reviews, because thankfully those are the only ones that I presently have. That said, many thanks for your extra input, and I will surely pay attention to you and your wife's points and approach.

All the best in any case,

Martin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing