We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Decking area above the river Wear
Old Elvet Bridge leads to city centre
Durham Cathedral
Kingsgate Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LoveTrave...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We all loved this apartment. Beautiful rooms, gorgeous terrace, and great location. The owners were very helpful, and the apartment provided all the 'bits' we needed but didn't want to pack. We've already recommended this apartment to people, and would happily stay here again. Thankyou, we loved staying here x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Sep 2014
Thank you ever so much for fantastic feedback which provides us with accurate guidance and shows our efforts are worthwhile. We aim to make our guests stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to Durham City.

Kind Regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waawaa
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent rental in Durham”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The apartment is well placed by the river with easy access to Durham city. You can walk over the bridge to city centre , which has many restaurants and bars. The apartment is contemporary and has all mod cons, Nespresso machine is very useful and easy to use.
Chris and Wendy are very nice and helpful , changed the duvet and supplied a fan as we were hot at night. They are always happy to help if you have a problem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern property with east access to Durham city
Liked least: Noise late at night from clubs / bars across river
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your return stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike T
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This property, service and welcome cannot be faulted.”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We arrived as two separate couples to celebrate a a significant anniversary between us. We could not have chosen a better property or venue. The welcome by Wendy on our arrival was warm and informative without being too overbearing. The apartment was absolutely as described and to see the rowing boats going by immediately underneath the balcony was a bonus. Such a short walk to the beautifiul city of Durham and its cathedral. To add to our enjoyment, Wendy and Chris had even arranged good weather and the Durham Regatta! Would we stay again? Of course we would and probably will!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback and such kind words. We aim to provide a personal and individual service to meet the specific needs of all our guests. We appreciate all comments with a view to constantly improving our service and apartment facilities for everyone.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole C
1 review
“peaceful haven in wonderful city-centre location”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Just back from a short 3-night trip with my two teenagers. The apartment was well-equipped and in the perfect location, being walking distance from the city centre. It was a delight to watch the rowers from the balcony and of course, Durham itself was a brilliant place to explore. Despite it's central location, we found the apartment quiet and peaceful, a great place to return to in the evening.
The owners were extremely obliging, and when - on the morning of departure - my car had a flat battery, they were very helpful and put me at my ease as AA were called, phone calls made, coffee offered etc. This was very much appreciated.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Apr 2014
Hi
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your positive feedback about the apartment and its location. We aim to accommodate any unforeseen eventuality and hope you had a safe journey home.

Kind regards

Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birdinbea...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in perfect location”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We have just returned from a lovely short break with friends at this beautiful apartment. The apartment was very well equipped, lovely furnishings and the complimentary wine, nibbles and milk etc were much appreciated. We also appreciated the offer from Chris to collect and return us to the train station and the flexibility over the checkout time. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made very welcome. We enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the rowers and having a glass of wine, and it was an easy walk to nearby pubs and restaurants and local attractions when we wanted to go out.

The only slight niggles we had were that the second bedroom was a twin (not a double as in the description) and we couldn't get the coffee maker to work, but that was probably us! The lounge was also a little chilly at night but we managed to use the fan facility on the heater. However, we would definitely come back and would highly recommend this apartment to others.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
Thank you ever so much for your positive comments and the really encouraging feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as we aim to please. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the welcome goodies and the complimentary transport as we endeavour to provide excellent service above and beyond a self-catering accommodation.

We apologise for the failure of the heater which was isolated to the lounge and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused. We have been to visit the apartment today with an electrician and he has replaced the fuse, however we intend to replace the overnight storage heaters with slim line electric radiators throughout the apartment. We always invite our guests to contact us via our mobile numbers in the guest handbook should anyone find themselves with a problem, large or small. We reside 15 minutes from the apartment and we would have been happy to respond immediately to rectify the broken heater.

We were also concerned that you thought the apartment had two double rooms. Our ground floor “Riverside Apartment 2” has always been configured as a master bedroom with a King bed and a twin room. However, our duplex "Riverside Apartment" has a Master King bed and the second room has a double bed, this apartment was and is unavailable until June 2014 so would have shown “no availability” on the Holiday Lettings calendar for the time of your reservation. I hope we have been able to clarify the hiccups and we sincerely hope this didn’t upset your time with us. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to Durham City.

Kind Regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing