We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent riverside apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Serenity in the city centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Serenity in the city centre
Lounge area  WiFi in apartment
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Serenity in the city centre
Lounge area
WiFi in apartment
Main lounge with french doors leading to the decking area
Decking area above the river Wear
Balcony decking area
Kitchen area with dining table
Master bedroom with views over the river
Master bedroom
En-suite bathroom
En-suite with Molton Brown
Twin bedroom over looking the river
Family bathroom
Molton Brown products
Exterior decking area
Kingsgate Bridge
Lift from secure car park to ground floor apartment
External security intercom for seeing and talking to guest arrivals
Durham Cathedral
Old Elvet Bridge leads to city centre
Durham Cathedral
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Halls99
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent riverside apartment”
Reviewed 30 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We stayed in the apartment with our 10 week old newborn and it was a perfect setting for us. The owners were very nice and flexible which was great, the apartment was ideal and very modern, and the location was superb being just a short walk from all that Durham has to offer.
Some nice little added touches as well, would certainly recommend this to others wanting a comfortable central location in Durham.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Dec 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We were more than happy to accommodate your beautiful baby. It is so pleasing to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zoej2000
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

stayed here for 3 days with my 16 month old daughter. the owners kindly provided extras for the baby on request. met ,me at the hotel nearby as i was unsure of loacationa. and nothing was too much trouble for the owners we were made to feel very welcome the apartment itself is lovely the bed was very comfy and everything you needed was there even a posh coffee machine. we met both the owners and they were very friendly and helpfull and even sent some one to show me how to work the coffee maker. the only problem i have is i wanted to book again and unsurprisingly it is fully booked. will definately be visiting again and will make sure i book well in advance. highly reccomend this apartment :)

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We aim to please and aim to make every guest as comfortable as possible. We hope you choose to book with us again next year.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port-worl...
mellieha
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Booked this apartment rather than staying at the Marriott Hotel as were visiting for a Wedding. The location was spot on for the Hotel and Durham city, right in the heart with riverside views. 5* it certainly was. Had everything you needed from towels, dressing gowns, hairdryer, shampoo etc. The welcome pack was very much appreciated with best coffee ever.The beds was super comfy, everything was of a very high quality, spotless clean. The little attention to deatail was catered for with magazines, umbrellas and even sweets in a bowl. Allocated parking is a big bonus as Durham City is a nightmare for this. Arrived to a wonderful reception and shown around whilst been given some helpful advice by a very pleasant young man. As I have Family in Durham I would not book into a Hotel again if this was available and could not recommend this apartment highly enough book, you will not be disappointed. Will definately be booking again, thank you Chris for providing this hidden gem, (although I have a feeling it will not be for long :) )

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Nov 2013
Thank you ever so much for fantastic feedback which provides us with accurate guidance and shows our efforts are worthwhile. We aim to make our guests stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to Durham City.

Kind Regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy H
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Star Holiday Apartment in the perfect location”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this apartment for a long weekend away with our 18 month old baby and everything about our stay from booking right through to departure was impeccable. The location of this very spacious property is perfect, with stunning views over the river and the standard of the accommodation is fantastic. Added to this the extremely helpful owner, the very generous welcome goodies and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, we really could not fault anything about our stay. We will certainly recommend this apartment to our friends and hope to visit again ourselves in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2013
Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return visit in the future.

Many thasnk
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam G
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring Durham area”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Everything about our stay exceeded expectations.
The location is only a few minutes walk from the Cathedral and other attractions of the old city.
The host was friendly and welcoming, even when we were very late arriving. The apartment is very nicely and thoughtfully furnished - excellent beds, a French Press coffee maker, an assortment of grocery staples, and so on. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck and watching all the river traffic while having our afternoon tea.
The parking garage is a huge asset. We found driving in town to be challenging and were very happy to leave the car and explore on foot. It was also very easy to get to a main road from there when we wanted to tour in the County.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing