We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 Star Holiday Apartment in the perfect location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Decking area above the river Wear
Old Elvet Bridge leads to city centre
Durham Cathedral
Kingsgate Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy H
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 Star Holiday Apartment in the perfect location”
Reviewed 19 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked this apartment for a long weekend away with our 18 month old baby and everything about our stay from booking right through to departure was impeccable. The location of this very spacious property is perfect, with stunning views over the river and the standard of the accommodation is fantastic. Added to this the extremely helpful owner, the very generous welcome goodies and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in, we really could not fault anything about our stay. We will certainly recommend this apartment to our friends and hope to visit again ourselves in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2013
Thank you for your fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return visit in the future.

Many thasnk
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miriam G
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect base for exploring Durham area”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Everything about our stay exceeded expectations.
The location is only a few minutes walk from the Cathedral and other attractions of the old city.
The host was friendly and welcoming, even when we were very late arriving. The apartment is very nicely and thoughtfully furnished - excellent beds, a French Press coffee maker, an assortment of grocery staples, and so on. We really enjoyed sitting on the deck and watching all the river traffic while having our afternoon tea.
The parking garage is a huge asset. We found driving in town to be challenging and were very happy to leave the car and explore on foot. It was also very easy to get to a main road from there when we wanted to tour in the County.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bert A
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Ideal location for exploring Durham”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Warm welcome by owner, with wine, milk and fruit, good beds, great kitchen. Very spacious. We loved being in just minutes walking distance of the Cathedral.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Flexibility of the owner regarding arrival and departure timers.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you your kind feedback. We are so sorry the potatoe peeler was missing and will ensure we check all utensils are in place in future. I do hope the lack of the small item didnt impact too much on your stay and hope to see you again next year.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth W
Burton on Trent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Great apartment in a great location”
Reviewed 2 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

A lovely apartment right in the centre of Durham with a balcony overlooking the river. The owners were exceptionally helpful, and a small problem (not their fault was put right at lightning speed with no inconvenience to us. Everything was spotless. Would definitely recommend it and go again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: No potato peeler!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
678Carole...
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect, Perfect, Perfect!”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I recently stayed at Durham Riverside Apartment 2 for a week with my daughter whilst visiting relatives in the North East. I was a little apprehensive because when I booked it, there weren't any photos available but going on the photos and reviews for the original Durham Riverside Apartment I figured it must be the same quality. And I was not disappointed!! The apartment is beautiful, very tastefully furnished and perfectly clean - the kind of clean which makes you feel very comfortable to stay there. Then there's the location - right on the River Wear with rowers passing all day - and if you sit with the french doors open in the lounge you can hear them being shouted instructions from their trainer on the other side of the river. Very nice! Come out of the apartment, turn left and you're onto Elvet Bridge where the bars, cafés and shops start - again perfect! And finally, there's the owner Chris. He was very friendly, gave us advice on where to eat and we had every faith that whatever we asked him, he would have tried his best to help us. We loved our week at the apartment and will definitely be staying there again when we visit Durham (if it's not booked out that is, as I have a feeling it's going to be hard to reserve this one once the word gets out!!). Thanks Chris

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the bedding, cleanliness and location
Liked least: Would have liked a coffee table to put cups or glasses on.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2013
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We aim to please and aim to make every guest as comfortable as possible. We hope you choose to book with us again next year.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing