We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”
other travellers have booked this property
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Spacious lounge with doors leading to riverside decking.
Dining area
Fully equipped kitchen
Master Bedroom with hairdryer
Main bathroom
Durham Castle
Riverside location
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Durham, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ProfRH
Hanover, New Hampshire
1 review
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 23 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This flat is absolutely fantastic -- the location right down the on the river is beautiful, the furnishings and Chris and Wendy were extremely friendly helpful. At one point they even sent someone over on short notice on a Saturday to help when I was locked out of the flat. Overall a lovely property.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thank you.
We endeavour to make your stay as relaxing as possible and attempt to meet any guest requests that will deliver the most enjoyable time spent in Durham with us. Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback and we hope you choose to book with us again next year.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jesska92
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We booked this apartment as an alternative to hotel rooms for a family of 5 attending a wedding at durham castle. The apartment was lovely. 5 stars all the way. We were met as promised and car was parked in secure parking followed by a quick tour of the apartment. The apartment had every luxury we could wish for lovely molten brown toiletries, fluffy towels, complimentary hamper of goodies and milk tea and coffee all waiting. Excellent after a long journey. This was a great hotel alternative for us and I don't hesitate to recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2014
Thank you ever so much for fantastic feedback which provides us with accurate guidance and shows our efforts are worthwhile. We aim to make our guests stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We look forward to seeing you again on your return visit to Durham City.

Kind Regards
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mally972
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superior in every respect.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Every thing about this accommodation was perfect - the location, the fit-out, the linen, the beds (so very very comfortable). The entire property was immaculate and the sound proofing between apartments was faultless (we didn't hear another soul). Everything that we needed was supplied - and more (we were not expecting the fantastic welcome hamper). The owners met us on arrival and showed us around, and then checked in with us at the end of our stay. They were so focused on ensuring that our stay exceeded our expectations - which it did. My favourite aspect was the deck over the river where we could sit at the end of a busy day, sip our wine (from the welcome hamper) and watch the rowers. Thank you so much Chris and Wendy!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Deck overlooking the river. Immaculate. Quality.
Liked least: That it makes every other place we now stay pale in comparison!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2014
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We aim to please and aim to make every guest as comfortable as possible. We hope you choose to book with us again next year.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudithD93...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, fabulous apartment”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Great riverside location, with balcony, and allocated parking space. Absolute peace and quiet, but just 1 minute from the city centre. The spacious apartment is very well-decorated and equipped, and the Welcome Pack from the owners was a real bonus.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2014
Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
futonsdir...
Eynsham, United Kingdom
1 review
“great accomadation and location”
Reviewed 17 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We highly recommend this apartment for a pleasant Durham visit, great location (a few minutes walk to historic area) very comfortable, luxurious flat right on river and friendly hosts, we were collected from train station, there was a few goodies provided for us and were taken back to train station on departure (we have been trying to find time to visit Durham for many years) and feel very lucky to have stayed here, it helped make a visit to this beautiful city complete.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
We endeavour to make your stay as relaxing as possible and attempt to meet any guest requests that will deliver the most enjoyable time spent in Durham with us. Thank you ever so much for such fantastic feedback and we hope you choose to book with us again next year.

Many thanks
Chris and Wendy
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing