We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$103
View deal
Expedia.comUS$102
Marriott HotelsUS$103
Hotels.comUS$102
TripadvisorUS$102
Priceline
TravelocityUS$102
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,975)
Filter reviews
1,975 results
Traveller rating
640
712
371
166
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
640
712
371
166
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park leisure club upgraded to a suite the river leisure centre excellent location per night central location reception staff buffet style breakfast was excellent town centre lovely room cathedral england
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,975 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2021 via mobile

The hotel is a little tired and could do with a refurbishment.
The room was ok.
The bar is bizarre. We were warned as soon as we walked in, about the strict last orders procedure.
At 10.20pm a manager appeared and told us to order our last drink (which was actually only going to be our second) as he wanted to cash up. We did so, and then felt as though we should drink it at warp speed while the manager hovered over us impatiently. As we finished, two other people walked in to order a drink and the barman and manager looked visibly horrified.
I asked if we could have room service instead and we were told that this wouldn’t be possible for at least an hour while they did the daily accounts. All in all, it was quite a bizarre experience.
The hotel is centrally located and has good parking.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Frui_Vita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 November 2021

Returning visitors beware: the Marriot Royal County has taken the - in my view - very foolish and short-sighted decision to permanently shut its spa facility. However the Marriott don't and won't tell you this on their website or on any booking communication, as they don't want you to take your custom to the similarly priced, similar quality Raddisson Blu (just across the way) where the full range of spa facilities continue to be both open and excellent.

We have been regular and loyal visitors at the Marriott Royal County, and have always made extensive use of the spa facilities. However we discovered the closure only after making our way down to the spa area, soon after our arrival, to find it gone - despite still prominant signage to the spa all around the hotel.

We had planned to spend a couple of hours at the spa each day of our three-day visit to see our daughter, a student at the uni. At a loose end, we took some time to visit the similarly priced Raddisson Blu hotel just across the road - a wonderful hotel where there is a full range of excellent spa facilities available to residents, including bookable treatments - massage etc.

We were so disappointed with the Marriott for not being transparent about this change, particularly having considered the Raddisson and ruling it out only on grounds of loyalty to the Marriott. We feel the Marriott should and could have been more transparent about the reduction in the facilities offered by the hotel, particularly for returning customers. We brought the issue up with the duty manager, and were offered a bunch of unconvincing excuses and a free drink.

Next time it will be the Raddisson for us.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Vacationer766656
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 November 2021 via mobile

Beautiful atmosphere old hotel, destroyed by upgrades. I haven’t stayed in the county for 20 odd years, but when I scattered my brothers ashes it was the obvious place to stay. What a shock. From the lovely traditional Hotel that used to reside here the new owners have destroyed the atmospheric rooms and seemingly painted everthing white.
Old sitting rooms and bedrooms gone, replaced with modern sterile rooms.
Waste of money, especially when the hotel full of parents for freshers. Certainly not worth the money except for ‘memories’.
RIP Tim

Room tip: Parking available but charged. Never come at beginning of term.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2021

In centre of town; stylish hotel with good bar/reasaurant and large well decorated rooms. Arrived late due to train delays, and still managed to eat at 21.30 - good choice (breakfast too) and nice helpful staff

Date of stay: November 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2021

Nice hotel obviously with history and a pillar of the city. Staff ar friendly helpful and cheerful and the facilities are good and the are obviously riding out the COVID issues.

Breakfast was good, eggs could have been replenished more frequently, varied and with a wide choice of many dishes.. minor criticism is that the positioning and numbering of the rooms means there is a hike to the higher numbers down a back corridor and set of stairs. However the room was comfortable and the facilities good. A really good base for the city centre.

Room tip: Try to get a room close to the lift
Date of stay: October 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews