We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely clean cottage!! Totally recommend!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Durham, County Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Dipen D
1 review
“Lovely clean cottage!! Totally recommend!!”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here for a family trip. The cottage was clean, spacious with all the facilities you would expect. I had regular contact with the owner and all of our needs were met. Short drive from Durham city centre and there are local shops within walking distance.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
2 Jun 2017
Thank you very much Dipen, it was a pleasure to have you and your family to stay.
I do hope you will visit us again.
Kind regards

Lynne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara H
1 review
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I would highly recommend a stay in this clean well equipped comfortable three bedroom cottage.
It has everything you need and there are local shops less than five minutes walk away as well as a pub and a bakery.
The owner was most pleasant and was very obliging and easy to contact.
The cottage is in an ideal location for exploring Durham and Northumberland.
It's a short journey into Durham then about twenty mins by train into Newcastle.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
8 May 2017
Thank you for your kind words, it was a pleasure having you to stay and I do hope you will return for another visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirleyni...
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A perfect location.”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Old stone cottage is a delightful extremely clean and well maintained three bedroom cottage set just outside of Durham.
It is ideally located should you want to go to Durham,Newcastle,hadrians wall or indeed to just stay in and relax,it is close to the a1 and wasn't difficult to find and there is also a regular bus service into Durham ( we caught a bus into Durham which was about a 15 minute journey and then caught a train into Newcastle )
The cottage really exceeded our expectations the kitchen was clean and well equipped with everything you could possibly need for a short stay.both bathrooms were impeccably clean with a fanatastic walk in shower in one of them.All three bedrooms were clean with good quality bedding and towels and we all agreed our beds were very comfortable.the living room had two large leather sofas a tv and free wifi.
The village itself had a co/op within walking distance,a bakery and a pub.Lynne the owner also left a comprehensive guide to the area and beyond,there's lots of walks in and around Sherburn then you have the beautiful architectural cathedral city of Durham with its hidden cobbled streets with fantastic tea rooms and restaurants.the amazing beamish museum is only twenty minutes away and is well worth a visit.then about an hours drive away is hadrians wall which has several visitors attractions.My personal favourite part of the north east has to be its coast and if you get the chance to drive up the coastal route to bamburgh it will take your breath away it's absolutely stunning.
We all enjoyed our stay and will be back again real soon as it's in a prime location a real home from home.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
10 May 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Old Stone Cottage.
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and explored all the great places the North East of England has to offer.
I hope you will visit us again
Many thanks.

Lynne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.