We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
339
87
5
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
339
87
5
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wetherspoons hotel busy pub separate entrance bottled water biscuits great hotel lake district public car park recommend this hotel pub downstairs rooms are spacious air conditioning excellent value for money pay and display large shower reception staff central location
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017

The room was very clean and modern and the bed was really comfy. The bathroom was nice and big with a lovely waterfall shower. The receptionists and cleaners were very friendly. Unlike a premier Inn you can get extra tea/coffee and biscuits and bottles of water. We weren't expecting much to be perfectly honest, especially when the prices are so reasonable, £39 on a Sunday night, but we were very impressed. We will definitely look for a Wetherspoons hotel in other areas. We were worried it might be very noisy as the hotel is attached to the pub, but we didn't hear a thing.

Date of stay: March 2017
Thank carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle D, Receptionist at The Furness Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Good Afternoon Carole G,

Thank you for leaving us a review!

We are delighted that you were pleasantly surprised with your bedroom and we often have residents comment on just how quiet it is inside our Hotel rooms!

It was lovely to meet you and we do hope to see you again very soon,

Kind regards

Katherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017 via mobile

Booked last minute on a Saturday night and glad I did. The room although budget is far superior than a premier inn . fantastic power shower with large rainwater head.lifts to all floors. Good beds with extra pillows.air conditioning and a large tv on the wall.Only downside was the noise in the bar which we are not used to . Thank goodness we could not here a thing in our bedroom. Free parking at the rear of the hotel after 3pm.
Real value for money.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle D, Receptionist at The Furness Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2017

Good Afternoon Harry B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a brilliant review!

We are absolutely thrilled that you feel our Hotel is great value for money and do hope you visit again soon.

Kind regards,

Katherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

Stayed many times , real good value , showers you could get 10 people in if you can find that many victims. Good value food and drink availabile at attached pub.
So if in Barrow go and see Bubbles , J B , posh bird and all the crew you won't be disappointed.
Only thing missing is champagne and more chocolate biscuits for the room

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank asmith907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle D, Receptionist at The Furness Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Hello asmith907,

Thank you very much for your review and comments! We are so glad that you enjoy your stay with us every time! Even more so we love the nick names you have given the staff too! We will make sure to make more effort with the chocolate biscuits, can't say the same for the champagne unless you're paying! Many thanks again and we hope to see you soon!

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Really enjoyed our weekend break with friends at this Wetherspoons hotel. Rooms are clean and well equipped; staff are friendly and helpful and location is central to town. Pub was lively on Saturday night but reception reserved a table for our group which was very handy. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle D, Receptionist at The Furness Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Hello Michael B,

Thank you very much for taking time to review us! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

The railway hotel is a weatherspoons hotel and as such I had no illusions to what I may be getting for the incredibly reasonable price we paid. Although Barrow itself leaves a lot to be desired the hotel and attached weatherspoons pub were excellent. The rooms are large, clean and airy with a great shower room and I have stayed in hotels 3 times as expensive that weren't as nice...the pub food was some of the best We've had...the steaks were tender and full of flavour, the breakfasts excellent and especially great was the pitcher of Long Island iced tea that was as good as and better than we have had anywhere else even the states...we must give a special thanks to Paula,Lois and Tim who are a credit to the furness railway....Well done Weatherspoons.....I think I may have to re evaluate my opinion...

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank roy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle D, Receptionist at The Furness Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2017

Good Morning Roy33,

Thank you for such a great review, we really do appreciate you taking the time to leave us such a positive response.

We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and have to agree the Long Island Iced tea is particularly a good choice!

We do hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards

Katherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews