We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Informationn”
Review of The Dock Museum

The Dock Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Dock Museum is a striking modern building on a scenic channelside site with free admission. Built in a historic nineteenth century dock, the museum is home to a wealth of objects on the social and industrial history of the Furness area. Barrow-in-Furness was a small farming village rapidly transformed into a bustling industrial town within a few decades. It has been the cutting edge of technology for more than a century with submarines, airships, warships and beautiful liners being built in this little-explored town. Find out more about the fascinating heritage of the area from cave finds, Viking treasure, Victorian life, Anderson shelters and the Second World War as well as Barrow’s long history building vessels (and still building submarines today). Our facilities include landscaped site and channelside walks linking to the Cumbria Coastal Way, playground, cafe and we are fully wheelchair accessible.
Reviewed 9 May 2018

We called in here and found it full of information, we didn't even know it was there, we called in by chance and it was FREE, not a word you here very often but it was. If you are in the area definitely worth a visit.

Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DockMuseum, General Manager at The Dock Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thank you for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to the museum. We have temporary exhibitions throughout the year so there is always something new to see. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"free entry"
in 28 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 43 reviews
"local history"
in 18 reviews
"rainy day"
in 18 reviews
"ship building industry"
in 9 reviews
"lower floor"
in 8 reviews
"play area"
in 24 reviews
"premier inn"
in 10 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 15 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 8 reviews
"small cinema"
in 5 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 5 reviews
"shipbuilding history"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 12 reviews
"all ages"
in 12 reviews
"gift shop"
in 11 reviews
"cakes"
in 9 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018

Situated right next door to our hotel , we just had to call in and found it very interesting indeed , very pleasant staff and free entry too .

Thank karton2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DockMuseum, General Manager at The Dock Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to visit the museum whilst you were staying near by. We hope you enjoyed your time in the local area and will come back again to visit in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Although it has lost floor space in order to generate income as a result of "austerity" cuts, this is still a great place to visit and absorb the history of this historic town. Many a great liner has departed these Barrow docks and ventured all over the world. The Oriana, Orcades and Orama to mention just three are all mentioned. Some superb models form the centre piece together with historic footage tell the story. The Cafe is also a superb drop in destination within the museum. The majority of fare is made on the premises including delicious "homemade soup", which has become something of a talking point over the years and never disappoints.

Thank Nige401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DockMuseum, General Manager at The Dock Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for your detailed review of the museum, we are delighted you enjoy visiting us. The staff in the museum are also fans of the soup in the cafe and the cakes which always makes for a lovely lunch. I will pass on your kind words to the Cafe staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

Entry is free but a voluntary donation can be made. This museum is well laid out in an original dry dock. It is very informative showing the history of ship building in Barrow. This is an ideal place to visit on a rainy day. There is a café on site serving fresh food. There is plenty of parking.

Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DockMuseum, General Manager at The Dock Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our museum. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Came with my mum and dad. Nice walk around. The bottom section closed off. Last time I came it was open. I should of asked the staff. Had a nice lunch in the cafe.

1  Thank georgina_stevenson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dock Museum also viewed

Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 

Been to The Dock Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing