We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice visit with children ”
Review of The Dock Museum

The Dock Museum
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Dock Museum is a striking modern building on a scenic channelside site with free admission. Built in a historic nineteenth century dock, the museum is home to a wealth of objects on the social and industrial history of the Furness area. Barrow-in-Furness was a small farming village rapidly transformed into a bustling industrial town within a few decades. It has been the cutting edge of technology for more than a century with submarines, airships, warships and beautiful liners being built in this little-explored town. Find out more about the fascinating heritage of the area from cave finds, Viking treasure, Victorian life, Anderson shelters and the Second World War as well as Barrow’s long history building vessels (and still building submarines today). Our facilities include landscaped site and channelside walks linking to the Cumbria Coastal Way, playground, cafe and we are fully wheelchair accessible.
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We did the Easter egg hunt which the children enjoyed and allowed us to look around too. They have a few quizzes too for the children to complete as they go around to keep their interest if you go at another time. If your in the area with children I would definitely pop in but I wouldn’t make a special journey. It is free entry though. They have a little cafe and playground there but the playground doesn’t have much on it to be honest and needs a bit of a makeover really. The museum staff were all lovely.

Thank elaine-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DockMuseum, General Manager at The Dock Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review the museum. We are glad you enjoyed our Easter egg hunt, keep updated on our website for future family-events at the museum. We hope to see you and your family again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"free entry"
in 28 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 43 reviews
"local history"
in 18 reviews
"rainy day"
in 18 reviews
"ship building industry"
in 9 reviews
"lower floor"
in 8 reviews
"play area"
in 24 reviews
"premier inn"
in 10 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 15 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 8 reviews
"small cinema"
in 5 reviews
"interesting visit"
in 5 reviews
"shipbuilding history"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 12 reviews
"all ages"
in 12 reviews
"gift shop"
in 11 reviews
"cakes"
in 9 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

From the outside didn’t think it would offer a lot, but I was wrong! The exhibitions were great and informative with both sets and glassed artifacts and interactive. There was also a film show. Small gift shop and cafe were very good, there was also a children’s playground outside. Definitely a place to visit.

Thank Edwina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DockMuseum, General Manager at The Dock Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for your kind response, we are glad you enjoyed visiting the museum. We hope you come visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

We was stopping at the premier Inn for a long wkend, we visited sunday as they just opened. It's spotless and well informed and the models are amazing I was blown away with the intricate details of hours and hours of work that put all that beautiful workmanship together. It's a well designed museum and definitely worth am hour of anyone's time

Thank lobbygobbler73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DockMuseum, General Manager at The Dock Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our museum. We are glad you chose to visit and enjoyed your time in the museum. We hope to see you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Me and my husband were staying in Barrow and paid a visit here. What an excellent afternoon we had. There was a world war 2 exhibition on as well which was good. It's such an interesting place to visit for all ages. There's some old films of Barrow and the surrounding area to watch which we thoroughly enjoyed. Can highly recommend a trip out to the museum.

Thank chris n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

This museum is a fun experience with a very informative and interactive nature. There is plenty for everyone here. The smaller kids have a viewing cinema, a fun dress up area nearby, with interesting exhibits and models for everyone else. It covers time periods of the area from the Viking age, to the Victorian era, to the blitz in the 1900s and modern wildlife and such.

And I've not gotten to the best bit yet, it's free! It's recommended that you make a small donation at the entrance, however I personally had no problem with making a donation as the experience was so good.

Overall I would recommend it, as it's free, fun, and informative. Overall a great trip!

1  Thank No S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DockMuseum, General Manager at The Dock Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank so much for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your visit, keep an eye out on our website for new exhibitions and events. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dock Museum also viewed

Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
Barrow-in-Furness, Lake District
 

Been to The Dock Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing