We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“ideal in many respects.house and location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Laurel Cottage

Front garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front garden
Kitchen Bedroom 4
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Front garden
Kitchen
Bedroom 4
Dining room
Living room
Bedroom 3
Front garden
Floorplan
An historic village
The walk to the pub (aka Silver Street)
The village duck pond
The Springhead pub in the village
View of the White Horse from the pub garden
Weymouth beach
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Weymouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
michaelbM...
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ideal in many respects.house and location”
Reviewed 25 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This lovely old house has plenty of charm. Room to move around even with plenty of people. The facilities for a younger child excellent ; we had a 20 month old with us and we didn't have to take any bulky equipment. Kitchen very good, bedrooms spacious. The garden very peaceful to sit out in. The owner very accommodating and fast with enquiries.
The location ideal, just outside Weymouth but easy to travel into. Good walks locally, with other venues easily reached: Corfe Castle, Hardy's birthplace etc.
A note though if visiting the Sea Life centre in Weymouth - we couldn't find admission prices on any info paper or website. Got there and found it was £23.00 + Each. Luckily the youngster is too young to realise we doubled back and went elsewhere, l gather from other sources could be cheaper if you pre book on line.
However it didn't spoil the house or holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: As in Revue
Liked least: No real dislike
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You could not ask for more from the cottage or location - just perfect!”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a wonderful long weekend at Laurel Cottage, 4 adults and 4 children (aged 6 and under). The house is beautifully appointed and very comfortable and even provided toys for the children which was an added bonus. Weymouth is only a few minutes drive away and the children loved playing on the beach (even in the chilly March breeze). Corfe Castle and The Swanage Steam Train (imagine the children's excitement!) were slightly further afield but definite highlights and we have a list of other places we could have visited if we were staying for longer! Dorset has a lot to offer!

Sutton Poyntz is a peaceful village surrounded by wonderful countryside and remarkable views of the sea and coastline (a walkers paradise). A visit to The Springhead Pub, a short walk from the cottage and across the duck pond, is a must!

Not many holiday lets manage to tick every box when considering 'a perfect getaway' but Laurel Cottage exceeds expectations in almost every respect. It is a comfortable distance from London for a long (or even a short!) weekend break, and offers excellent accommodation in a location that combines rural village tranquility with the convenience of having Dorset's many attractions within easy reach. What more could you ask for!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCB1111
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage with all the kit you need near nice pub and fish + chip shops”
Reviewed 11 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Over the Christmas holidays we stayed here with a group of friends. It's well kitted out with everything you need for a big group from a coffee machine to range oven and a big fridge which makes ice for an evening gin & tonic. The village pub is a 100m walk past a little stream and duck pond - good beer, food and fine with the kids. Two fish & chip shops a short walk in the other direction - our consensus was the rougher-looking of the two was the best thanks to the chips.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bogiecaro...
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Family Friendly Home”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed here in November with our 3 small children and parents. The cottage was beyond perfect. The toys were a huge hit! The travel cot and stroller were a huge help and made traveling from America so much easier since I didn't have to worry about these items. The cottage was warm and cozy and we all loved walking to the local pub on the path. It was a great location for touring the Jurassic coast. Lulworth Cover, Durdle Door, Salisbury and Abbotsbury were some of our favorites. Having the coop down the street was super handy. The Springhead pub was super accommodating and friendly. It was hard to leave such a great cottage and location. Thanks again for sharing your home with us.....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Coziness of the cottage
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harriet W
London
1 review
“Charming, Picturesque Cottage...exactly what is says on the tin!”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My boyfriend decided to holiday in the UK this year for a change as the weather in June was so warm. We stumbled across Lauren Cottage and I naturally fell in love with the picture of its charming quintessential English Country look. I was disappointed when we got the property as it was exactly how it looked in the pictures (something I have had a problem with in the past). Everything was very clean and well kept, the bathroom was spotless and we had a really relaxing stay at the cottage.

There is so much to do we frequented all the local pubs where the people were very friendly, the food was delicious and the atmosphere was really welcoming, and we stayed until closing. Monkey world is within a good distance as is the beach. After a week of comfortable and easy going bliss it was hard to leave to go back to normality of a busy London job. I would definitely stay here again, probably with my god daughters as there was so much to do for children.

All in all staying at Lauren Cottage was exactly the break I needed and having a lovely kitchen to cook in, the peace and quiet, the beach and activities close by, and have the ease of staying in a house is much more preferable to a hotel and a lot better value too!

The whole process was very smooth and I would highly recommend staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was very Picturesque, and exactly and described
Liked least: Nothing -- I had a great trip!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,432
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing