We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
171
175
64
32
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
175
64
32
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub wreckers bar stunning location crashing waves rugged coast bay window the cliff fish and chips coastal walk old fashioned comfortable room lasagna stayed here for one night fantastic views cooked breakfast sunday lunch lundy island
Filter
Updating list...
108 - 113 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Stayed here for one night while walking some of SWCP. A wonderful experience in every way. Sarah (manager) was helpful and had great staff, the location and walking is the best. I was given a lovely room with sea views and lots of space,the wifi worked in all the areas I tried and the beer and cheesy chips went down no problem.
I have stayed in many places doing the SWCP and this was so far the most enjoyable.
Thank you again Sarah and I hope to return one day.

Room Tip: Go there and enjoy.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Neil O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

Excellent traditional pub menu choices, reasonable prices given the views, and the quality and quantity was very good too. Food arrived quickly, nicely presented, and tasted great. Staff very friendly and helpful with a backdrop second to none! Thanks to all, we'll see you again soon.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal Sarah S, General Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear Don L,
Many thanks for the review. Delighted you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Donal

Donal & Sarah Stafford
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

The food has always been enjoyable at the Hartland Quay pub but recently it has become the habit for diners to reserve tables in the public bar side of the inn leaving drinkers, who wish to sit, no option but the dining room. This really needs to looked at.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal Sarah S, General Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear Brett A
Many thanks for your review and feedback and I'm sorry you were unable to have a table on this occasion. We do treat the bar and adjacent room as one space for diners and those just wishing to have a drink and have never designated between the two groups - people are welcome to sit where they like. All are welcome and we will always try and accommodate everyone that wants to visit us, be it for food, just a drink or a coffee. I'd be delighted to discuss further if you wish and do please feel free to get in touch at info@hartlandquayhotel.co.uk

Kind regards
Donal

Donal & Sarah Stafford
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

We didn't have a great deal of choice as we were walking the coast path and this hotel/pub is right on it. The location on the cliffs is amazing and the outdoor tables and gardens are a good place to relax with a drink. My room was clean and comfortable but on the small side. I hoped for a view but could only see the building opposite. The food was big in portions but low in quality. The French beans must have been the wettest I've ever been presented with. The staff were friendly but not highly trained. The packed lunch was good, but the breakfast tray (as we wanted to leave at 8am, before breakfast was served) was uninspiring. The Wifi service was poor.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TimTHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal Sarah S, General Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear TimTHF

Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review and I'm very sorry that we did not reach our usual high standards during your visit. Unfortunately not all rooms have a sea view but contacted directly, we will always do what we can to accommodate any requests. We appreciate all your feedback and if we can assist with any future bookings, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us at info@hartlandquayhotel.co.uk

Kind regards
Donal

Donal & Sarah Stafford
Managers


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

The hartland quay hotel is situated next to the cliffs and for an extra cost you can get a room with sea views although the windows were so dirty very little could be seen out of them, we were allocated room 17 right above the bar but no noise could be heard from the bar or restaurant. The wifi was reported to be only available in the bar so we expected to be able to connect from our room given its location above the bar, "no connection"' we went to the bar and tried to connect "no connection", a little annoying as there is no phone signal either.
We ate in the wreckers restaurant which was very good indeed, the food was excellent and a good price too, if you plan to eat in the bar on a Saturday then I suggest you ensure you book a table as plenty of people we told that they would have to eat on a table outside.
The room was very dated, Lino on the floor and in places it was cracked and broken, the wall between room 17 and 18 was very thin and every sound could be heard, the room did have a tv although the smallest I've seen in a room in a long time. breakfast was very good with plenty of choice and the room nicely laid out. Overall it was a great location but I wouldn't stay again at £110 there are nicer places.

Room Tip: Room 17 was good providing 18 is empty
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regiment888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donal Sarah S, General Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear regiment888,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review and for choosing to stay with us. I'm very sorry about the poor Wi-Fi signal when you were with us. Whilst we have Wi-Fi throughout the building, we had some recent problems with the incoming line & signal which affected connectivity. Thankfully, these issues are now resolved. Bedrooms are being refurbished as part of a rolling program with many completed already and we look forward to continuing these works in the Winter.
I'm delighted you enjoyed your meals with us and if you are re-visiting the area, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us at info@hartlandquayhotel.co.uk.

Kind regards
Donal

Donal & Sarah Stafford
Managers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews