We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed as soon as we walked through the door”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bentley Cottage

Lounge/Dining Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge/Dining Room
Lounge/dining room Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
110 reviews
Lounge/Dining Room
Lounge/dining room
Lounge
Log burner
Dining Room
Kitchen
Front aspect including off-road parking
1st bedroom
1st bedroom
1st bedroom en-suite
2nd bedroom
2nd bedroom en-suite
Bunk bedroom (3 standard size singles: 6'6)
Bunk bedroom
Family bathroom
Lobby
Patio
Mare and foal near Bentley Cottage
New Forest Ponies
Pig at pannage time, near Balmer Lawn - Brockenhurst beach
Stream near Queen's Meadow
Can you see the deer?
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Brockenhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 110 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
SquirtyBe...
Newbury
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Relaxed as soon as we walked through the door”
Reviewed 18 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Bentley Cottage is an excellent 'home form home' in the New Forest. Warm, inviting, very clean, everything you need and as mentioned by previous reviewers includes the most amazing 'welcome pack'. The owners were always quick to respond and very pleasant when they popped round to make sure we had settled in.
We felt so relaxed at Bentley Cottage that we stayed in every night after long walks in the New Forest during the day.
Do we want to go back? Definitely! I didn't want to leave! Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So relaxing
Liked least: Bed dipped in the middle a little
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All the little additional touches, the welcome hamper and the dog shower!
Liked least: Honestly, nothing!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jean T
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“As near to perfect as you can get!”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Six 65+ friends stayed here for the New Year and an 80th birthday celebration. We could not believe the excellent quality of the accommodation,the high spec of the equipment, nor the superb welcome pack. The owners themselves visited soon after our arrival to ensure we had everything we needed. They supplied lots of information on walks, three of which we did despite the rain. The cottage is near good public transport links, whilst also providing parking for three vehicles. The three bathroom/shower/toilets were a real bonus for those of our age too!
We would not hesitate to return nor to recommend it to others. excellent value for money. Thank you,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loves-tri...
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant getaway!”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed in Bentley cottage for a week with extended family and 2 small children.
The cottage is very well furnished, very clean and well stocked up. The owners live just next door and provided some welcome treats such as champagne and homemade chocolate brownies! As well as the basics like bread, milk, eggs, bacon, butter and orange juice! There is a bookshelf filled with books, DVD's and games for both children and adults! The log fire is a wonderful feature! Make sure you use it! Logs are piled up just outside the front door.

As mentioned in other reviews, the two double rooms are en-suite, there is a room with a bunk bed and a single bed and also a family bathroom. The kitchen is fully stocked with plenty of cutlery, crockery, cooking utensils, pots and pans. The dishwasher is a saviour and they provide tablets for it too!
The owners really have thought of everything you would need to have a relaxed break away!

Also you won't be far from local attractions if want a day trip out. Portsmouth and Winchester are less than an hour away for shopping, aquarium and Cathedral.
There is an information folder provided with phone numbers for local takeaways, taxi's and other useful information. There are lots of walks along the coast which are highlighted in this folder and they also provide a laminated version of these so you can take them out with you!

Overall, we all had a lovely time! Would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire!
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleursie7...
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional home from home comforts”
Reviewed 22 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed for 3 days and 2 nights and although the weather was typically British for the time of year the cottage certainly made up for it. Everything has been thought of right down to the handy dog shower outside the back door. The entire property looks as though its had a recent makeover and it seems the owners have spared no expense on making it feel clean, fresh and welcoming. Upon arrival we were greeted with homemade Brownies, eggs, bread, orange juice, bacon and Champagne. Lovely touch! No need to take shampoo, conditioner or shower gel either, its all taken care of. The cottage is located in the heart of the forest and its a short walk to the shops and the forest beyond. Its hard to fault the property and we are certainly looking to visit again in 2016 perhaps with a splash of sunshine next time...

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing