We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect base to explore the New Forest”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen/dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Kitchen/dining room
A curious neighbour!
Living room
A great place to sit and watch out for passing donkeys, ponies and cattle
Bi-fold doors onto patio
Bi-fold doors onto patio
Large patio with seating for eight
Groundfloor bedroom made up as a super king
Ground floor bedroom made up as a twin
Downstairs shower room
Downstairs showerr room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with ensuite
Ensuite to master bedroom
Double bedroom with view over the garden
Double bedroom overlooking the garden
View from back bedroom window
Main bathroom
Main bathroom
Landing
A selection of games, books and maps
View from the front bedroom window!
New neighbour
New arrival 2016
Autumn Pannage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Brockenhurst, New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tessao231
1 review
“Perfect base to explore the New Forest”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We chose Hathersage because of its convenient location and its roomy size to accommodate our family of five - plus guests. It certainly didn't let us down and we would recommend to anyone who wants to explore the New Forest.
Hathersage is a short walk to Brockenhurst town centre where there are plenty of shops, restaurants and pubs so you are well placed to either eat out or do some self catering at home with the very well equipped and spacious kitchen/dining room. Hopefully you will also have weather good enough to sit out and enjoy the garden and have a barbecue - as we did. Hathersage also just a stone's throw to the railway station where you can easily rent bikes from Cyclexperience for kid-friendly (think flat topography and tracks without cars) biking around the New Forest. We had a wonderful day out with another family doing just that - including a nice stop at a pub for lunch. The railway station is also handy to visit other places nearby. We took a short ride down to Lymington ferry pier for another great day out - to the Isle of Wight. Owners Alison and Jeff have thought of everything for their guests - its very kid friendly and there is a trove of books, leaflets and maps so you can make the most out of your staff. The bedrooms are cosy and the bathrooms modern and work well. The couple themselves are very helpful and are keen that you really enjoy your stay. We certainly did! Thanks Alison and Jeff.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fastgiraf...
Widnes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply fabulous”
Reviewed 15 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

What an amazing house, tastefully decorated throughout, fully equipped with quality fixtures and fittings, large enough for all the family (7 of us stayed) but also cosy and comfortable. We cannot praise this property enough. There is a secluded garden with a lovely decking area which we made full use of!
It's location was perfect, 2 minutes from the station, we used trains to go to Isle of Weight & Southampton, the rail service fast & cheap. New Forest ponies loiter outside the house to greet you in a morning. Whilst the location has a rural, quiet feel, it is actually extremely close to the centre of the village and convenient for the local shops and pubs.
We were fortunate to actually meet owners Alison and Jeff who were lovely, available when we had any questions and happy to help us in any way to ensure our stay was the best experience it could possibly be.
We would not hesitate to recommend this property to anyone intending to stay in the New Forest, Beaulieu was a fun day out and we also enjoyed a very sunny afternoon on the gorgeous Bournemouth beach.
Hathersage is such a lovely house, it really is an idyllic, perfect getaway, so thank you Alison and Jeff for allowing us to stay in your beautiful home, we would love to stay again, it is simply fabulous!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frances D
1 review
“Fantastic family accomodation for all ages.”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house is lovely, clean and spacious with a great garden, and the owners are very helpful and seem to have thought of everything. The location is ideal, especially for none car drivers as it close to the village and train station but on a very quiet road (apart from ponies wondering past from time to time). I won't write any more as we liked it so much we want to go again, and don't want it to get booked up too many years in advance!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2017
Frances it was lovely to get the chance to meet you and your family albeit very briefly. We are very pleased that you liked the house and that you had a good holiday and would love for you to return sometime :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Companion...
1 review
“Beautiful house with all home comforts in ideal location”
Reviewed 25 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Myself & my grown up children & granddaughter spent a lovely long weekend at Hathersage in Brockenhurst to celebrate my 60th birthday. The house is fantastic, the layout is perfect for larger families of varying ages & having 3 bathrooms makes all the difference.
The wonderful kitchen/diner/lounge area across the back of the house with bi-fold doors leading out onto a great back garden is perfect for family meals & games nights as well as outdoor fun. Having a separate quiet lounge at the front where those who need to retreat from the mayhem of family life is an added bonus!
The location in Brockenhurst village with the train station on the doorstep is perfect for thise travelling without a car & also to be able to get out to all the nearby attractions such as Beaulieu Motor Museum, Paultons Park, Longdown Activity Farm, Moors Valley Country Park & of course the wonderful New Forest itself with the loveky walks & picnic spots amongst the ponies, one of which wandered up our road after our arrival!
I cannot thank Alison enough for making our stay at Hathersage such a happy one & for providing for all our needs, even leaving a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge to help me celebrate my grand old age! Flowers in the kitchen & a welcoming card as well as comprehensive instructions & information to help make our stay a truly wonderful memory!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at Hathersage Cottage, and thank you for your lovely comments. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your birthday celebrations and hope to welcome you all back sometime. Regards Alison and Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebacons...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hathersage cottage”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely weekend break here . House was amazing everything you could need for a break was supplied . Lovely pubs only a 5 min walk away with lovely food .Village only about 10 min walk . Kitchen is done to i high stranded as with the rest of the house but could do with another sofa in kitchen . Will be going back so i hope

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2017
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your break. Thank you for your review and your suggestion. As you know we currently have a sofa and a number of occasional chairs in the kitchen. We did this as we felt it would be more flexible for guests, but we are constantly reviewing things so it maybe something we consider in the future. In the meantime as you know there are 2 large sofas in the living room if people prefer. Hope to welcome you back to the house in the future. Alison and Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing