We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Lodge and Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tumbles Lodge

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Bude, Bude-Stratton, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alcouk
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Lodge and Location”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a fantastic stay at Tumbles Lodge with the family of 6 adults and 6 children. The Lodge is large enough so each family had their own space and we congregated around the massive open kitchen in the evening. The swimming pool was a great hit and the lodge is fully equipped with everything that was required. The location is easy to get to Bude and other near by beaches and there is a big garden to let the kids run around. I Would highly recommend Tumbles Lodge for a large group break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size and Swimming Pool
Liked least: No Wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mammabee6...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“FLEET HOLIDAY”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

brilliant we all loved it
swimming pool was lush
house was georgous
GARDENS STUNNING
BUDE BEACH TOPS

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: all of it
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blue140
Brixham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing , Beautiful location, already planning a return”
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

could not of wished for a better location , our youngest guest was 19 and the eldest 70 all family members. we picked the house for my sisters hen weekend as we thought it looked amazing and we weren't disappointed. we were met at the property by Ray who kindly brought along 4 pints of milk for us in case we had forgotten some. the house had every amenity we could possibly want or need and we took full advantage of it all. we had a problem working the sauna so a quick phone call to Ray and he came straight round and set it up, nothing was too much trouble. All of us are looking to return on different occasions and with different groups. we made lovely memories that will last a lifetime

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MAADC01
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

This house is very spacious giving all 12 of us adults room to be together but enough space to be apart as we required. The furnishings and carpet are looking a little tired. The sofa cushions in the 'snug' were completely flat and no amount of plumping could rescue them! It definitely needs replacing. The upstairs lounge had comfy leather sofas so that was great for chilling in the evening.
The kitchen was large and spacious. The cooker is a little on the small size and a range type would have been better for us to cater on. It would have been nice if a bottle of milk was in the fridge when we arrived as has been the case on many holiday homes we have rented.
The beds were very comfortable and the bedding although a little dated in design smelled fresh and clean. The towels were very small and very old. I suggest you take your own towels as the ones offered weren't particularly serviceable.
The swimming pool is fantastic and everyone had a great time using it. The garden is large and would be ideal for children to play in.
Our biggest gripe would be NO INTERNET CONNECTION all week. Although it states it's available at the property it never worked the whole time we were there & with very poor mobile signal it was extremely frustrating for the two uni students who had finals to submit and our self employed daughter who needed to work! The internet cafe in Bude came to the rescue! If you definitely want internet I wouldn't recommend a stay here.
Overall we were pleased with the property but it does need updating and as above a caveat should apply to the internet. The owner was very helpful with a couple of our queries and everyone loved the cows next door!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming pool
Liked least: No internet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2015
Hi

We are currently planning to renew the carpets and curtains after the summer season and I agree that this is due

With regard to the internet there was a fault on the line coming into the house, unfortunately Sky who provide our service had a 7 day appointment time to repair this.

It is fully working and whilst at only 1.4mb it is not broadband it is more than adequate.

We are in the process of taking BT as the provider due to better customer service and will upgrade to broadband as soon as it is available in the area.

We hope to see you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colyton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing