We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Big Blue for the win

I decided to book with Big Blue Surf School after a google search on "surfing for additional needs... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
ZeebsUk
,
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Amazing experience for all ages

A brilliant experience for those completely new to surfing. Booked surf lesson for three... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
217tommyt
,
Billericay, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 214 reviews
  
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
207
4
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
207
4
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf school great fun nice bunch fabulous week great communication easy booking his team group lesson teenage girls great equipment great afternoon catching waves fun experience explained everything an excellent instructor cyril beginners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time surfing for me and my 14-year old daughter. We had a brilliant time! The instructors were great, friendly and supportive. So good we went back for a second time during our holiday. Highly recommend.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank mattbQ7881ZE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Highly recommend Big Blue Surf School for surf lessons in Bude. My 2 children (11 and 14) were total novices so I booked a private lesson for them. The whole experience was great from start to finish - my initial email enquiries were answered promptly, paying for the booking was straightforward and on the day, they were kitted out in clean wetsuits and given the appropriate sized boards to use before moving immediately to the beach.

The instructor (Carys) made sure they were confident with the basics on the beach before taking them into the sea - they emerged 2 hours later with the biggest smiles on their faces and immediately asked when they could surf again. Within a short time, they were both able to stand up and surf short distances and then spent the rest of the lesson gaining confidence and practicing their new skills - we got some lovely photos and videos of them from our viewpoint on the beach. It was a perfect introduction to surfing for them and we will definitely be booking another lesson for our next visit to Bude.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank llm19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2021 via mobile

Excellent surf school, would definitely recommend. Reasonably priced, friendly instructors and very diligent in the water around safety etc. Great for beginners!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank michaelg1412018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2021

These guys were amazing! From the first phone call to the amazing session in the waves, this was a really friendly and professional set up. We have two sons, one age 10 who was up and surfing and loved his session, and a teenager who uses a wheelchair. Cyril couldn't have been more helpful getting our son on an accessible board. He totally loved the session and it was lots of fun and excitement while still feeling completely safe. The boys are desperate to go back and we're planning a return trip already!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

Our four kids aged 8-12 had a wonderful private lesson with Rosie. She was brilliant with them, the older two are now totally hooked! Such friendly and accommodating staff, Cyril and Jill particularly. Hired boards and wet suits at short notice and offered us sound advice. Cannot recommend this outfit more highly. We will be back next year.

Date of experience: August 2021
1  Thank Jet17473618039
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews