We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mini break with the dogs”
other travellers have booked this property
The Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
The Cottage
View from the garden
The Byre Inn - just 5 minutes walk away
Terooms - just down the road in pretty Brig O' turk
Meet some locals
Another view from the garden
Waterfall at David Marshall Lodge
The Trossachs church nearby on Loch Achray
Loch Achray - just a mile from West Riding Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Speedbird...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“More Care & Attention Needed”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Cottage situated in a stunning area, making it an ideal place to stop at if touring this area of South West Scotland.

The property has a lot of potential to be fabulous.

We found the place clean and tidy and welcoming.

However, we later found the bed incredibly uncomfortable, the mattress was old and dirty at the foot end as well as having lost its spring effectiveness playing havoc to our backs.

The sheets were clean however.

On the one night we decided to eat at the cottage we found a saucepan not properly washed and feel things like this should have been checked prior to our arrival.

There were plenty of pota and pans to be able to cook a proper meal.

There were very little cleaning agents in the kitchen, only a bottle of washing up liquid. So we had to buy our own bleach and jif. Not what we would have expected.

On the day we vacated (we left two days earlier due to our poor backs) we found the Hoover cylinder absolutely full, disgusting and when we tried to work it it would not work. We also found tape had been applied to the damaged power cable and feel this should have not been in service this way.

Probably the worst thing we found was in the hall cupboard; on the floor at the back corner we saw a mice or rat poisoning trap. To think our dog had been in the property and the landlady had not warned us of it we feel was highly irresponsible.

With more care and attention this cottage could easily be awarded 5 points.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Terrible wifi, terrible mattress
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2016
Thank you for your review. I am glad you found the cottage clean and welcoming, loved the area and found there was plenty of provision of kitchen equipment. I am sorry you did not chat to us about the issues raised as we could have dealt with most of them straight away.
If you had asked for cleaning materials I would gladly have provided them. I will put a note in the Welcome pack inviting people to ask for anything they need and will ensure there is some jif and toilet cleaner available.
I am sorry a pan was dirty. I do inspect the plates, bowls, pans, cutlery etc. but clearly had missed that pan.
The bed is a tricky one as everyone who has stayed in the last 6 months has commented on how comfortable the bed is and how well they slept. I have 2 couples returning for the second time this year. It is a personal thing and I will monitor it to see if other people feel the same..
I agree I should have checked the hoover and I will in fact be replacing it with a dyson - which is what I use to vacuum the carpet - it was something that has been on our to do list - but is now at the top.
I took over the property six months ago and honestly had not recognised the trap which has now been removed and will not be replaced since there is no evidence of any vermin to date.
I appreciate your feedback - and only wish you had mentioned to me while you were here so I could have dealt with it immediately.
I aim to ensure guests are comfortable and have a great holiday and would always wish that people let me know of any issues. I am devastated to get only 2 stars as all my previous reviews on here and airbnb have been 5 stars and that is the standard I have set myself so you can be sure that all issues will be addressed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrow198...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mini break with the dogs”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This cottage was amazing it had everything we needed kitchen/bed/bathroom sky tv lovely living space :-) we brought our dogs with us because this cottage is in a perfect area for walks the owners are so nice and polite cannot fault west riding cottage and will.deffo want to book in the future :-). Xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
Thank you. I am very glad you and your lovely dogs enjoyed it so much - and you made the most of the area Thank you too for leaving the cottage clean and tidy and being such great guests. It would be lovely to see you all again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meike S
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Glad you enjoyed your stay. We take note of your comments on the mattress and look into getting a new one
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing