We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The White House - Christchurch
Nearby Hotels
The Kings Arms(Christchurch)
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Avon Causeway(Christchurch)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Bute Hotel(Christchurch)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$101
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch West Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$102
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Captain's Club Hotel(Christchurch)
    US$394
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (65)
    Filter reviews
    65 results
    Traveller rating
    21
    22
    9
    7
    6
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    21
    22
    9
    7
    6
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewskennedy roomextra heaterroom was cleanyogurtvery nice staypowerful showeran overnight stayother guestscarterhighcliffehostsrearradiatorensuitewardrobelymingtonkeys
    Filter
    Updating list...
    6 - 11 of 65 reviews
    Reviewed 26 June 2017

    This is the first time in all my years of going to b&bs that the owners never once introduced themselves. They weren't there when we arrived but left instructions for keys. This was fine. We guess it was the owner at breakfast, but only got a hello. We were there for 2 nights. The room was small and assumed it was a single as the bed was only a 4ft and uncomfortable. Would be very embarrassing for all concerned if you had a larger couple.The bathroom was in need of a revamp and a good clean. It was not cleaned during our stay. I had brushed my hair in the morning, when we returned hair was still on the floor. Probably why behind the toilet it was stained yellow/brown. Our duvet cover was ripped. The "white" towels had seen better days.We received one lot of biscuits on arrival, not replenished the next day. Breakfast stated fresh fruit, this was either an apple or orange. Breakfast tables are small which is probably why the lady serving kept wanting to take plates before you had finished! Parking is a nightmare as to get to the car park you have a very narrow entrance. Wifi is intermittent and would go off in the middle of something then not come back on till hours later. To be honest this place does not warrant the price due to the lack of welcome and no attention to detail, they obviously don't want to do this anymore. Stayed in far better for the same price or less! So disappointed as this was a birthday treat.

    Room Tip: Go to another b&b!
    • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    1  Thank Karenriddell71
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 April 2017

    Nice little B&B run by a family We booked it blind not staying in the area before and what a nice surprise we had we were in the Carter room at the top of the house overlooking the front of the house ( the rooms are named after US presidents )
    Very nice room very quite good location for Highcllffe and about 10 minutes away from Christchurch
    Bed very comfortable and slept well
    Bathroom a little old fashioned but all worked well nice and powerful shower
    Breakfast was very nice all cooked to order
    Parking at the back a bit light going down the side of the house so take care
    Overall a very nice stay and I would go back again

    • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Mitchell F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 28 March 2017

    A good choice for an overnight stay. I went for a small leisure/business trip with my Mum. The room was clean, comfortable, cosy and just what we wanted. I especially love how each room is named after a former US president - we stayed in the Kennedy room. The bathroom was a little small but it wasn't a downer. The cooked breakfast was delicious, and the options of jams, marmalades, sauces, cereals and fruit was great. The only downside was that the TV remote in our room didn't completely work. The volume control button was iffy, and we had to turn it off manually. But it wasn't a huge fault, we were only there for one night. Would visit again if I ever return to Highcliffe.

    • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Fiona J
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 24 January 2017

    Booked via Booking.com with huge reduction. Would not have been worth the full price.
    Small car park at rear, with difficulty getting in and out. If other guests had not left before me, I would not have been able to get out.
    Overall clean, small, double room with the exception of the bath that had a mass of congealed hair in the plug hole. TV remote dodgy. At 5am, the boiler started up like a steam engine that was about to explode. So, no further sleep.
    Very good breakfast and the hosts were very friendly and accommodating.

    Room Tip: I was in Nixon. Probably one of the nearest rooms to the boiler.
    • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank David H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 December 2016

    I stayed for one night at The White House whilst fulfilling a business commitment locally. It is not until you are allocated a room with the name Johnson or Kennedy that the "penny drops" regarding the significance of the establishment name.

    I was made to feel very welcome on arrival. The room I stayed in (Johnson) was spacious, warm and welcoming. It was a cold night and an extra heater, with which the room was equipped, was used to good effect. Although on the main Lymington Road there was no noticeable road noise. The en-suite was spacious with a shower - but slightly chilly as there was no heating in that area. Crisp sheets and a comfortable bed as well as a very comfortable leather sofa lent a hint of luxury. The breakfast (08.00 to 09.00) was ordered the evening before and could be tailored to individual choice. Lots of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, fruit juice and a pot of fresh coffee complemented the choice of a continental or a cooked English breakfast. The breakfast room was light and airy and the tables were well spaced so one didn't feel one was intruding on other guests space or thoughts! All in all a pleasant and private overnight stop for me.

    • Stayed: December 2016, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Peter H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews