We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful spot in the country, but not too far...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Retreat

The Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard Living area and kitchen view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
The Retreat
The Retreat and courtyard
Living area and kitchen view
Living Area
Kitchen
Living Area, flat screen tv
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with en suite
Twin room
Double room
Wet room - disable friendly
Wet room
Luxury shower
Pond
Mother hen
The sheep
Living area
Twin room with vanity unit
Double room with vanity unit
Outside (other existing accommodation)
The ducks
The lake
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dereham, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dave M
2 reviews
“A wonderful spot in the country, but not too far from towns.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We were made to feel very welcome by Amanda and Andy and appreciated the welcome pack of food we found in the kitchen. The children loved visiting the farm animals and playing on the outdoor toys. We enjoyed the quiet countryside yet only being a few miles away from supermarkets and places to visit.
The accommodation was comfortable and spacious. The two bathrooms were ideal for our two families. The kitchen was well equipped as well as a BBQ and external seating.
We would certainly stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and security of the property.
Liked least: Having to go through the kitchen to the nearest toilet.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig R
Witham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“relaxing, enjoyable, a real pleasure”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Our 2nd time at riverside and again it was truely great. We stayed a full week and again the accommodation was exceptional and the farm was packed full of things to do. Andy and Amanda were great hosts and always around to show our daughter all the animals. We were all sad to leave. Our daughters highlight was putting gary the eventually friendly goose to bed at night!
Got a feeling we'll be going back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spicers20...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location and house - we didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This was our first visit to Norfolk, and it will definitely not be our last. We stayed in the Retreat and had a fantastic week. The property is home from home - very clean and spacious with excellent facilities. Riverside Farm is a peaceful location that is handy for the supermarket and in easy reach of all that Norfolk has to offer.

We were a party of 5 (including two children age 6 & 7) and found the Retreat had more than enough space for us. We could park our car immediately outside and had full access to the farm. Nice touches like the milk, tea, coffee and fresh eggs were provided on arrival.

The owners, Andy and Amanda were the perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. They treated us to so many farm experiences it is difficult to list them all but here are a few: collecting fresh eggs each day, feeding the ducks, chickens, goose, rabbits, goats, sheep and horse. Helping bale the hay, playing table tennis, welcoming two new-born baby goats, rides in Andy's quad bike trailer, seeing the doves, the playground area, playing table football, visiting the lake, sharing a home brew!

It was a lovely place to return to each evening and there was an abundance of things to do. The whole family agreed that this was our favourite holiday to date! I would recommend the Retreat and Riverside Farm to anyone who wants to experience the best of Norfolk.

Travelling Tip - if you are travelling to The Retreat on the A47 (from Norwich) don't take the turning signposted for East Tuddenham - take the left turn immediately after it. It isn't signposted but it is the most direct route to the Retreat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely property and the amazing farm experiences
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela N
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed here for a pre-wedding weekend trip with my two bridesmaids. I choses the holiday cottage as we also had my bridesmaid's little boy with us, and it looked like a much better option that getting rooms at a B&B or hotel. We had a fantastic time - it was just what we were looking for. The cottage itself is beautiful and well-fitted and kitted out, and Amanda the owner couldn't have been more helpful. It is a lovely peaceful spot to enjoy the English summer. The farm animals and pets were perfect child-friendly entertainment too!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoannaGri...
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed here for just two nights when visiting the area for a wedding. Before our visit i was in touch with Amanda a number of times to discuss arrangements and found her very helpful. It was our first trip away from home with our ten week old son and she was very accommodating. The property had been beautifully renovated and the accommodation clean and comfortable. We particularly appreciated the free range eggs! We will definately return if visiting the area, and certainly recommend the Retreat. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing