We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A superb place to stay suitable for all the...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Erne Retreat

Fresh linen on locally crafted Ballindullagh Beds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fresh linen on locally crafted Ballindullagh Beds
Modern Granite Kitchen with Everything You Need Large Living Area in kitchen with Fire and 3 piece luxury suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Fresh linen on locally crafted Ballindullagh Beds
Modern Granite Kitchen with Everything You Need
Large Living Area in kitchen with Fire and 3 piece luxury suite
Upstairs Bathroom
The area is renowned for Irish Donkeys
300 yards from the Shores of Lough Erne
An area of natural wild beauty
A retreat must have firewood and peat !
Number 1 on TripAdvisor and the diary is filling for 2011 already
The lounge room is spacious for everyone to enjoy a book watch the TV or just roar up the fire!
Large clean spacious outdoors secured with a perimeter for safety
Large garage to store your small boat
Our stoney lane to the lough- for walks on your doorstep
Lough Navar for the best walks and views in Ireland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Enniskillen, County Fermanagh, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Leanne S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A superb place to stay suitable for all the family!”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had an excellent stay in Erne retreat with our family!! The house was well equipped with all the necessary items!! Children thoroughly enjoyed themselves! Hot tub was an added bonus! Will hopefully be back next year!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rufus408
Lisburn, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Well equipped property, easy to book although I did have to mostly prompt communication. Very peaceful setting. Hot tub was fabulous. House generally clean but could do with a "deep clean" to just give it that pristine feel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Liked least: That the house was not as pristine clean as I like.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2014
Dear Rufus,
Im sorry that you found the cleanliness not to your standard. We have taken the comment seriously and acted to make sure the highest expectations are met. We have also had the decorators in to freshen paint, replace carpets and have overhauled the decking area of the hot tub. Please do return- we would welcome your approval.
regards,
The Erne Retreat Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincessS...
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing house great to suit all groups from families with children,young people and older”
Reviewed 2 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Fabulous house with more than enough amenities to service everyone from travel cots, wooden cot, high chair, changing station not to mention three bathrooms which is great when sharing with big groups. The hot tube was an outstanding way to bring in the new year. The place is clean and well looked after with all the cleaning and cooking equipment you need it provided a relaxing atmosphere. The kids and adults enjoyed seeing the donkey's in the field next to the house. We will definitely be returning to the house again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn
Reviewed 15 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sally M
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“NEVER AGAIN”
Reviewed 12 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
6
people found this review helpful

We arrived on Friday afternoon mid January to a cold house with no manager to show us round. The hot tub was cold and upon phoning the owner I was told it obviously hadn't been turned on the Wednesday before like it should have been. Guy come to look at the hot tub, no courtesy to introduce himself - literally looked at temp of hot tub and left again. I had to chase for two full weeks for the deposit to be refunded only to be told I wouldn't be getting it all refunded as there was evidence of smoking. This clearly wasn't the case. The house manager alledges she seen ash but never smelt smoke. Very poor communication with the owner and I had to 'hound him for my partial refund'. He did refund the hot tub money as this wasn't working then told me off for using towels that were 'out of bounds' although it didn't say anywhere not to use the towels. Despite leaving the house spotless and washing the bed clothes and towels I was told these were left sitting for two weeks as the house is only cleaned before the next guest arrives not when the previous guests leave. Extremely un-hygenic. There was not mop to clean the floors....etc.. I could go on forever. So disappointed and feel Erne Retreat is extremely over priced. The bed in the downstairs bedroom has left over wooden floor for the slots - at this price the least you expect is a comfortable bed. Not the case. The house owner did not reply to emails or answer his phone. He choose to communicate through text - very un-professional.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Poor customer service and uncomfortable bed and sofa
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Feb 2013
Dear Guest, thank you for the comments in the email that you sent (21st Jan 2013) where you informed us of the lovely time you had at Erne Retreat.

Unfortunately, the management described your post inspection as the worst the property had been left in 4 years of operation. The property was found insecure with lights burning and most importantly- cigarette ash as evidence that you contravened our strict no smoke policy (a first on record). Retaining only £10 of your deposit should be taken as fortunate in this case- the third time we have retained any deposit on 100's of bookings since 2007.

However, I am sorry that you have changed your review to a poor experience at Erne Retreat so we have taken on board your comments.

The tub has now being addressed, but it appears that the water level dropped and shut off for safety reasons- likely it had lost too much water while being used. We will carrying out a full service of the tub and lid in the next week to make sure it is restored to functioning as new. We will also advise guests that excessive water loss leads to a shut off mechanism- requiring a top up in water level.

We do use all forms of communication to get information to our guests. Text messaging is most effective for communicating during working hours when an email is not possible. We see this as one of the strengths of our operation. Many businesses and clients prefer text messaging, so I could not agree that it is not professional in most circumstances.

We are voted as Trip Advisor/Flipkey Self Catering Winner for County Fermanagh for the second year running last year and we are also commended as being the best value for money by guests which is what we aspire to offer- without compromise.

I am genuinely sorry that you had a poor experience after we retained a smalls sum to help with an additional hour of cleaning costs and equipment. We will respond to this situation with positive action to make sure we dont go wrong again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing