We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor Cottage - overlooking St. Austell Bay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor Cottage - overlooking St. Austell Bay
Garden side of Poltor Cottage Patio of Poltor Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor Cottage - overlooking St. Austell Bay
Garden side of Poltor Cottage
Patio of Poltor Cottage
Sitting Room Poltor Cottage
Kitchen/Diner through to Sitting Room Poltor Cottage
Sitting Room Poltor Cottage
itting Room through to Kitchen/Diner Poltor Cottage
Sitting Room Poltor Cottage
Sun Lounge Poltor Cottage
Kitchen/Diner Poltor Cottage
Kitchen Poltor Cottage
Kitchen Poltor Cottage
Dining area Poltor Cottage
Downstairs Bedroom Poltor Cottage.  2 (superking) twins joined
Downstairs Bedroom Poltor Cottage
Downstairs Bedroom Poltor Cottage
Downstairs Bedroom en suite Poltor Cottage
Downstairs Bedroom with ensuite Poltor Cottage
Upstairs 2nd Bedroom . 2 (king) twins joined or  made up singly on request.
Cornwall, Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Bedroom 2 upstairs.  Twin linked/2 singles  5ft/2ft6ins bed(s).
Cornwall, nr Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Bedroom 2 (upstairs) Twin linked/2singles 5ft/2ft6ins bed(s)
Poltor Cottage - upstairs bathroom (corner bath with shower, hand basin and lavatory)
Poltor Cottage
Poltor Cottage
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Good sized patio with garden furniture
Cornwall, nr Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Sitting Room through to Kitchen/Diner
Cornwall, nr. Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Kitchen/Diner through to open plan Sitting Room
Cornwall, nr Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Sun Lounge through to Sitting Room
Cornwall, nr Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Sitting Room through to Patio (Engine House view)
Cornwall Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Bedroom downstairs - twin linked - superking - ensuite shower room
Cornwall - en suite shower room to downstairs bedroom (slightly stretched photo)
Cornwall - Poltor Cottage - Bedroom downstairs - twin linked - superking - ensuite shower room
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Utility Room with washing machine and sink (gas boiler)
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor Cottage - Cottage patio (far reaching views Luxulyan Valley and sea)
St. Austel Bay -  Sea View from Poltor Cottage
Cornwall, near Fowey - World Heritage Austen Engine House ruin as seen from cottage
Cornwall, near Fowey - Austen Engine House, World Heritage Site - view facing cottage
Cornwall, near Fowey - Poltor aerial view -  surrounding country and sea view
Cornwall - Fowey
Cornwall - Par beach nearest beach to Poltor Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fowey, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
BrendaW10...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

A wonderful holiday home. On arrival Pauline, the owner, had made sandwiches, cream tea, and strawberries and cream. We wanted for nothing, tea, coffee, sugar, bread, croissants, milk
And even a bottle of Cider and Champagne. The cottage had everything you could need. We didn't want to leave at the end of the holiday. Will definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your thoughtful and generous review. It is always appreciated when one knows their guests have experienced a good vacation. You both looked after the cottage well too so many thanks for that. I certainly hope you can spend another vacation here in the not distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suzannely...
Sauk Rapids, Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely charming!”
Reviewed 23 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Staying at Poltor cottage was the best decision of our vacation! My husband and I were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary, and when we arrived, Pauline had decorated the kitchen with balloons, food, champagne, wine, and a miniature home-made cake! She also hand-crafted an anniversary card, which made a wonderful souvenir of our trip! The cottage itself was beautiful, as was the flower garden in the back patio. Lovely, quiet place to stay and well-located to major roads for site-seeing. I'm afraid that we're bound to be disappointed at our vacation rental; it will be hard to top this lovely place!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was awesome!
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for leaving such a generous review and I am only glad that I was able to create something to make it a bit special for your anniversary vacation as anniversaries are but fleeting moments to be cherished and added to the album of memories. May you have many more!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike T
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ticked all our boxes and more”
Reviewed 21 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Of all the places we have stayed over the years none has exceeded our expectations, this did - we read all of the previous comments made on Trip Advisor before we made our choice - the welcome was very unexpected the food and drink went down well having had the worse journey anywhere in the world down from London - Clean - Quiet - A sun trap - A bit hilly for us cyclist but the clay trails and exploring off and on road great! - the whole of Cornwall is 1.75hrs max drive away - you get all the info for the owner that you need about the are but there is a mass of maps, books pamphlets on the whole area so no to bring your own - cds dvd on site for stero and tele - books to - and if you ask the owners will assist and supply.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet relaxing - for the first time in years we Chilled
Liked least: the Weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2014
Your review was most useful and appreciated - thank you for taking the trouble to write it. I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday in the cottage and that the facilities and surroundings allowed you to absorb the sunshine for most of the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rcbig82
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Cottage and Location”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

After finding the property by looking through several websites, we thought it was going to be a lovely Cottage but you really do not realize how beautiful it is until you arrive.

The property is perfect in every way. There is so much space in the kitchen/diner leading through to the sitting room areas and both have wonderful views out across the countryside. The kitchen is well equipped and it makes it very easy to prepare and cook meals. Both bedrooms are a good size, beautifully decorated and well equipped again, the bathroom upstairs has a lovely bath with overhead shower and the on-suite downstairs is very nice. The utility room had a washer and dryer which really helped if we needed to wash any clothes or towels. The gardens are lovely and the patio makes a great space to eat or relax with the family. We even managed to fit both Ford Focus's on the drive but one car certainly fits easily.

The hosts were lovely. They were on hand to attend to every need but you never felt overlooked by them and could get on with your holiday in perfect peace and quiet. Not often do you get a perfect property and hosts but i can honestly say this is the case with Poltor Cottage. They had so much knowledge and made exploring very easy.

The location is fabulous, right up on the hill side with wonderful views down to the sea and surrounding area. It is perfectly placed to visit many of the surrounding attractions such as the Eden Project (10 minute drive) as well as lovely local beaches such as Polkeris (only 5 minute drive away and two great pubs on the beach side). Local towns such as Fowey and St Austell are very much worth a visit but the best has to be Mevagissy, a delightful small harbour town with lovely small shops and some great places to eat. Park in the main car park as you enter the town as the streets are very narrow and busy with people.

You do depend on the car to get around but it is certainly worth it. New Quay is only a short drive away and I would recommend the beautiful large beach at Perranporth. Again if visiting this beach, park at the garage as you drive in and there is a path over the road that leads direct to the beach. We also visited Penzace and St Ives which is about an hours drive, it really is the perfect base to explore the wonders of Cornwall.

St Austell and Bodmin have local supermarkets such as Asda and Morrisons which makes shopping very easy.

If you are looking to book a lovely quiet cottage in the countryside, with easy access to many lovely areas, this certainly ticks all boxes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
I am so pleased that you all had such a good holiday and found everything to your satisfaction. Thank you so much for writing such a good review and conveying your approval of your holiday setting. I really appreciate your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawnus666
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a wonderful stay!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This trip was with my in-laws celebrating their golden anniversary. We were greeting with golden balloons, golden decorations and a full afternoon tea including personalized cake. This absolutely blew us away. So much attention to detail. The cottage was perfect as it was fully kitted out and very comfortable. The views were stunning. I would recommend this cottage to anyone. Thanks again Pauline :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2014
I am so glad to hear you all enjoyed your very special celebratory stay in Cornwall. A cherished time for you all and my pleasure in hopefully adding a bit of an extra surprise. Thank you so much for writing this review so quickly after your stay. It was very much appreciated as was your card and beautiful plant.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing