We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,530)
Filter reviews
1,530 results
Traveller rating
953
400
113
39
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
953
400
113
39
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gin bar sea view antique lift traditional hotel parking space richardson group richardson hotels public rooms lovely hotel four poster bed public car park short break dining room fowey estuary per night standard room lovely break
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 1,530 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for the night last weekend and were very happy with our stay.
The sea view from our room was beautiful, we slept with the window open listening to the waves crashing all night long.
The location was perfect too, very close to the coastal path which was a stunning walk.
The staff were friendly and very helpful and informative in the bar, breakfast room and reception. We loved our stay!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lucyandscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey C, Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear Lucyandscott,

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us.

Hopefully, we will welcome you back in the near future for a longer stay? Please do let us know if you have any dates in mind and we will be more than happy to assist you on 01726 832551 option 0.

Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Lindsey Cunningham
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017

We returned for another amazing stay. Beautiful seaview room and bathroom with huge bed ,amazing views, big fluffy towels & robes and so clean. All the staff so welcoming and helpful and the service was impeccable. Blaine the restaurant manager was outstanding so professional and a delight. Lindsay spoilt us and the flowers and champagne were lovely.Sipping champagne in our room, while watching the boats from our window felt so relaxing and comfortable. Thank you for arranging everything. The food is 5 star, delicious with everything cooked to order and plenty of choice. This is a truly excellent hotel and it certainly lives up to its motto "this is were memories are made".The weekend exceeded our expectations.

Room tip: Sea view a must
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank smilebigtoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey C, Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear smilebigtoday,

Thank you for your review.

It was wonderful to read your review and I am so pleased you enjoyed our recent stay with us.

Your comments are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share them with the team.

It is always lovely to read that guests love our hotel and location as much as we do and we cannot wait to welcome you back.

If myself or one of the team can be of any assistance to you please do not hesitate to contact us on 01726 832551 option 0.

Kind regards,

Lindsey Cunningham
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

This is our 2nd visit to The Fowey Hotel, this time we brought the mother in law with us. It was a lovely 2 night stay and it didn't disappoint. The staff are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. The food is top quality (I thoroughly recommend the kipper for breakfast). Although an old building everything in the room works well - a great shower, a jacuzzi bath (not sure if this is every room), TV (not that we had time to watch) and a beautiful view of the estuary. We did make time for an afternoon tea with scones not long out of the oven. Again, did not disappoint. Dogs are allowed in this hotel although not in all public areas and for us this was a bonus - we are dog lovers and it was nice to see them being made so welcome. We hope to return.

Room tip: ask for a sea view.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcdizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey C, Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Dear mcdizzy,

Thank you for your review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your return visit.

The team will be thrilled with your comments and I will be sure to thank them for there continued hard work.

We very much look forward to hearing form you again soon.
If myself or one of the team can be of any assistance to you please contact us on 01726 832551 option 0.

Kind regards,

Lindsey Cunningham
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017 via mobile

We had a wonderful four night stay again which is becoming an annual tradition. The hotel is exceptional. All the staff are friendly and attentive. Our favourite room has breathtaking views, a huge comfy bed, bathroom with jacquzi, lovely fluffy towels, great tea making tray. Our dog is welcome. The restaurant is marvellous- the chef and kitchen staff prepare and present excellent quality food. The DBB deal is outstanding value for the quality. The gin bar is great fun for pre dinner drinks. Thank you all at The Fowey for our lovely stay and hope to see you again next May.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kataine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey C, Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Dear Kataine,

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted you enjoyed your recent return visit.
It is so lovely to welcome guests again and again and we will certainly look forward to seeing you next year.

Your comments are hugely appreciated and I will be sure to share these with the team.
We are continuously investing into the hotel, from new dishes produced by our kitchen team to refurbishing bedrooms it is important to keep increasing our offering for our guests to enjoy.

If myself or one of the team can be of any assistance to you please contact us directly on 01726 832551 option 0.

Kind regards,

Lindsey Cunningham
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We had a large and lovely corner bedroom for a 3-night short break in the Fowey Hotel with windows looking towards the estuary and up river. The food in the hotel restaurant was amazing and beautifully presented and there was an excellent choice of wines … but both are on the expensive side (as are the wide choice of gin cocktails!). Breakfasts were satisfactory. All the staff were friendly, courteous and helpful. A slight criticism was that some of the decor was showing signs of wear and tear and ALL the rooms were far too hot (very difficult to sit away from a radiator in the dining room!). The gardens overlooking the sea were well-kept and it was nice to have somewhere outside to stroll and enjoy the amazing views. I and my fellow holidaymaker would definitely like to holiday again in this hotel (finances permitting!!!!). The location is convenient for the centre of Fowey.

Room tip: It's worthwhile having a bedroom with estuary/up-river views. Public rooms are largely south facing and all have lovely views.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Cidersplodge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsey C, Manager at The Fowey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Dear Cidersplodge1,

Thank you for your review.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Fowey Hotel.

Your feedback is appreciated and I will share your comments with the team who will be delighted.

I am sorry that you felt the hotel was uncomfortable in terms of temperature and will certainly take your comments on board and see what can be done to rectify this.

Our kitchen team work hard to ensure that our guests receive the highest quality local produce and we are certainly glad you enjoyed it. The prices do vary across the menu as we combine our Table d'hôte and A la carte menu together. We are the most competitive for having a 3 course meal costed at £35.00 in the area and feel very proud of offering quality and value for money. We also have very attractive dinner inclusive offers for our guests to be able to spend on our menu with great value in mind.

We would love to welcome you back to Fowey and if myself or one of the team can be of any assistance to you please contact us on 01726 832551 option.

Kind regards,

Lindsey Cunningham
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews