We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (541)
Filter reviews
541 results
Traveller rating
443
60
23
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
443
60
23
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews haggis bon bons hunting lodge new owners country house the main hotel high standard public rooms amazing hotel scallops the general manager lamb attention to detail wonderful weekend the hotel manager drawing room top quality scones
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 541 reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Our second trip to this hotel in less than three months .on our last visit we heard there was to be a murder mystery evening and as it was something I had always fancied taking part in I had no hesitation in making a provisional booking for a return visit.mark was quite happy to book us in provisionally for the event.we arrived on the Thursday and found to our great surprise that we had been allocated the bridal suite which after more than 45 years of marriage was a very pleasant surprise! We dined in the hotel as usual on the first night and discovered it was steak night.A great offer at two for £35.The food was superb as always.Friday night was murder night and what an enjoyable experience that turned out to be with a welcome drink on arrival and a delightful meal of smoked salmon,chicken balmoral and a delicious chocolate dessert so at £35 a head it was a really good deal.The murder event took place during dinner with actors involving some of the guests and was great fun.our one regret was not guessing the culprit so no prizes for us! Other events are scheduled for later in the year so we will definitely be putting a note of them in our diaries.It was nice to be greeted by Mark like old friends and as usual all the staff were excellent..We hope to return in the not too distant future and the proposed twixtmas event sounds appealing

Room Tip: we stayed in cairngorm which spacious and elegant with a luxurious bathroom which is bigger than most other hotel rooms
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank _hazelrodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Manager at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Hazel

It was lovely to have you back at the Hotel.

We are putting on a production Macbeth's Way on Saturday 6th October. The tent is going back up.

Honestly you are the first people I have told. The ink is still wet on the tickets. It is not even on Facebook.

I don't have Cairngorm available but I have pencilled you into The Glenmore.

Regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We stayed for two nights at Muckrach and really enjoyed it. Our room was very comfortable and the bed enormous, although the absence of a bath was a bit disappointing. The food was very good, particularly the Sunday roast. It was also very pleasant sitting in the lounge with a gin & tonic listening to the piano!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Michelle_RQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark H, Manager at Muckrach Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Michelle

Unfortunately not all our rooms have baths. Next time please call and we will certainly allocate you a room with a bath.

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

I took my boyfriend here for his 30th Birthday last Thursday. The service was amazing, food was super quick and fantastic. The venue was incredible. The price for dinner was very good aswell. We will definetly be back again soon and we would recommend people to go here for dinner.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Looked after so well, we had an amazing room, which was so lovely, so spacious, and clean, with wonderful views, and an amazing bathroom, with lovely products in it, and heated towel rail. We were made to feel so welcome, by Mark, Lucy, Harry, and all the staff, the sun shone, we sat outside and had lovely wines, felt like we were in France, the breakfasts were so lovely, fresh flowers everywhere, Mark looked after so well, it was so special, they deserve all of their good reviews, they work so hard at looking after everyone. will definitely return again - it was a perfect two nights away from home. Thank you all x

Room Tip: Cairngorm is a wonderful spacious wonderful room -did I say wonderful ?
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JosieRossshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Loveley location & very pleasant rooms .. but watch out at times slightly ‘off season’!
Understaffed when we stayed, poor dinner (Steaks tough and inedible) and extremely slow service at breakfast with only one table waiter trying to cope.

OK, when I complaned, the charge for dinner was removed from the bill, but that wasn’t the point. After a lengthy drive, relaxing and good dining is part of the experitence, but on the occasion of our stay, we enjoyed neither.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rectifier2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews