We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (199)
Filter reviews
199 results
Traveller rating
183
14
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
183
14
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 199 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2021

Beautiful and immaculate B and B here in Kirkwall Orkney. Elaine is the best host, friendly and welcoming nothing is too much trouble, breakfasts tasty and plentiful. Stayed here for six nights in June 2021. Definitely recommend.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ceci1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine Young, Owner at Avalon House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2021

Thank you Cecilia for your review. It was a pleasure having you and Ed to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2021 via mobile

Avalon is a modern purpose built guest house on the outskirts of Kirkwall. It’s spacious; the rooms are large with good storage and the ensuites including the showers are excellent. It is spotlessly clean. It’s quiet and there is good parking.
The owners, Elaine and Keith, are very welcoming and friendly. They are Orkney born and bred, so they are excellent advisors and story tellers. They helped make our week’s holiday.
Their breakfasts are very good with all you need to fuel your day.

I have no hesitation in recommending Avalon. It’s one of the best places we have stayed.

We did not venture off the Mainland of Orkney as there is so much to see and do. Marwick Head and the Brough of Burness were our favourites. Best to book ahead for main meals. Sheila Fleet in Tankerness, the Merkister Hotel and Lucano are very good.

And relax.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Coastal41648720765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine Young, Owner at Avalon House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2021

Thank you Iain for your wonderful review, glad you enjoyed your trip to Orkney, it was a pleasure having you to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2021

Located a 25 minute walk from the town of Kirkwall. The house was very clean and comfortable, Elaine and Keith were great hosts and couldn't have been more helpful to us. Room had en suite facilities, smashing shower. Full Scottish breakfast (including haggis) absolutely delicious. This was our first time on holiday after lockdown and Elaine and Keith made it a wonderful experience. Thoroughly recommend!

Room tip: All rooms are on the ground floor.
Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sheila637920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elaine Young, Owner at Avalon House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. It was lovely to meet you and hopefully you will be back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2020 via mobile

We stayed at Avalon House for 6 nights and were made very welcome. The whole purpose built house was spotlessly clean, the rooms light and airy finished to a very high standard.....and the breakfasts copious and very tasty. Elaine and Keith went out of their way to make us welcome in their home and spent their time telling us about all the various interesting possibilities of places to visit and eat. They are delightful friendly hosts. Although we live a long way from Orkney we look forward hopefully to staying at Avalon House again in the future.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 556nigelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Arriving late in the evening from the ferry Elaine welcomed us with hot tea and sat and talked about life on Orkney and her personal experiences growing up and raising her own family on the island. Every morning at the excellent breakfast there was always a very personal conversation with both Elaine and Keith that made our stay in Orkney much more interesting. In addition they provided excellent suggestions for restaurants and touring.
The room was extremely comfortable and roomy.
We would love to come back again for longer.

Josh and Liz

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jrnade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews