We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, relaxing beautiful cottage in rural...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Lounge
Lounge
Fitted Oak Kitchen
Kitchen with electric range, washing machine, dishwasher and full size fridge freezer
Kitchen with seating for six
Bathroom
Main Bedroom
View from the bedroom
King size bed
Main Bedroom
Twin Room
Twin Room
Twin Room
Meet the neighbours!
Beyond the garden
Barbeque area
Garden in flower
Lounge in the sun
The garden
Our local picnic area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Lassay-les-Chateaux, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janet C
Manston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful, relaxing beautiful cottage in rural France within driving distance of the French ports.”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Cottage found at the end of a lane and although one drives down a slight hill the views from the back garden are stunning, overlooking the fields, valley and hills. Take a pair of binoculars to see the chateaux and other landmarks.
Property is not overlooked from the rear, as the owners are renovating the other half of the building for their occupancy they will have use of the adjacent garden.
The interior is stunningly decorated to a very high standard. Kitchen/diner well equipped and ample room around the table for meals, also lots of storage in the cupboards and a good sized fridge/freezer for a family/4 guests. However eating outside is a must in good weather. A small table and chairs would benefit at the back of the property for morning/evening coffee/aperitifs. (Getting WiFi in the garden would be good but that's a personal preference.)
Bedrooms clean, fresh and cosy, also bathroom with a good size shower. No downstairs toilet cloakroom, if that matters.
There is no artificial light outside which lends itself to star gazing, which one just cannot ignore.
The lounge is large and plenty of room for relaxing during the day or evening if one must be indoors! Due to the thick walls of the property the lounge is a cool escape on hot days. We did have a couple of cooler days and used the log burner, which the owners supplied a basket of wood for starters. Buy more from the owners as it is cheaper and easier than buying from the local store.
The owners are very helpful, knowledgable friendly but also discreet. Finding the property was easy from Yvonne's instruction.
Thank you both we had a lovely week, we enjoyed meeting the chickens, Sully the dog and Stig the cat, you were all very friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior decore, the peacefulness and privacy and the uninterrupted views from the garden
Liked least: None, personal preference to sit at a table and chairs at the back of the property and have access to wifi.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A rural, relaxing retreat.”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were so pleased that we booked this cottage for the last few days of our French holiday. After a long journey, we were warmly welcomed and immediately made to feel at home and relaxed. The property is beautiful, well equipped and had everything we needed...and more. It has rustic charm and character alongside all modern conveniences and the two blend extremely well. There are some great places to visit in this lovely region of France. within easy reach, before returning to the peace and tranquility of Dougebert farmhouse.
Yvonne and Paul are great hosts who did more than enough to help make our stay such a pleasant one.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Such a tranquil location, the views and the character along with all mod cons!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dale G
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 5 November 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This is the best holiday cottage I have ever stayed in. The accommodation is beautiful and decorated in a delightful way. It has everything you need to make it a real home from home. Paul and Yvonne go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your time in the farmhouse- nothing is too much trouble. It was our first visit to this part of France and we loved its charm and beauty. The Farmhouse is in a gorgeous setting and the large garden is a real plus for active children. We really enjoyed visiting Bagnoles and doing the high ropes. A must visit if you are in the area.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
We enjoyed having you stay and its great the children enjoyed the garden. We hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
André R
Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, Canada
2 reviews
“This is paradise”
Reviewed 14 October 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is the place to stay if you want to get away to a peaceful environment, but still be close to all the good restaurants and beautiful things to see. The cottage is a delight and well equipped. Paul and Yvonne can give you all the advice you need for the day trips. We stayed for a week and it was way to short. We fell in love with the Mayenne district.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are pleased you enjoyed the peace and tranquillity here at Dougebert. There is loads to explore around the Mayenne and we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anniecee
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best ever holiday cottage we've stayed in!!”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had 10 days in Dougebert Farmhouse and it was the most relaxing, peaceful holiday we've ever had. The house has been lovingly and beautifully restored by Paul with great attention to detail, everything is fantastic quality and is furnished beautifully but it still manages to feel like home. Clearly Paul and Yvonne have poured their heart into this home which adds to its beauty and warmth. Sitting out in the sun in the lovely garden all you can hear around you are the sounds of nature, perfect for meditation or just chilling. Although so quiet and peaceful it's only 10 mins into the nearest pretty town where we ate in really nice restaurants most evenings. Fantastic forest walks and roads great for cycling (thanks for the loan of Yvonne's bike Paul !!) Just truly beautiful to have a peep into life in rural France. We found everyone that we met extremely friendly, villagers/shop assistants and restaurants which we haven't always encountered on holiday! Paul was genuinely warm and friendly and looked after our every need, he gave us great advice and tips on where to go. First time I've felt sad to leave a place. We will return! Thanks Paul & Yvonne for sharing your beautiful home.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Dec 2014
We are pleased you had such a nice holiday and we could help make it "one to remember". Ten days really gives you time to relax and explore and its great you made the most of it. We look forward to seeing you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing