We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowestoft and East Suffolk Maritime Museum
Open today: 10:00 am - 5:00 pm
Save
Review Highlights
An absolute must-visit attraction

Sometimes it is the most unassuming of attractions which deliver the best experience, and the... read more

Reviewed 28 October 2019
BFR677
Saved us on a rainy day

We had already tried to visit the transport museum and Lowestoft museum but due to torrential rain... read more

Reviewed 9 October 2019
Peter R
,
Hastings, United Kingdom
Read all 175 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Lowestoft
from US$40.87
More Info
from US$41.56
More Info
from US$13.84
More Info
from US$19.39
More Info
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
137
33
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
137
33
5
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2019

Sometimes it is the most unassuming of attractions which deliver the best experience, and the Maritime Museum in Lowestoft was an absolute gem. I went with my children during half term, and we all found it fascinating. The model boats, the medals, the historical film footage of trawling, drifting and rescue. The volunteers at the museum made us all feel incredibly welcome, and the venue had good accessibility for a wheelchair user.

We spent an hour there and I'd have happily paid more than the very cheap entrance price. Will be pleased to take the kids back there again if we're in the area on a rainy day.

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank BFR677
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2019

We had already tried to visit the transport museum and Lowestoft museum but due to torrential rain they had closed. The maritime museum came to our rescue and were open and extremely welcoming. We spent a fascinating hour and a half there. This really is a gem!

Date of experience: October 2019
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 September 2019

If we could give 6 stars we would Excellent place to visit Very informative Clean Excellent guides on hand who are able to answer any questions 100% recommendation Thanks

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank malcolm f
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2019 via mobile

We visited this after reading the trip advisor reviews. There is parking outside, which is free and it is only a nominal cost to enter. Plenty of local memorabilia and interesting facts to attract the attention of all ages, regardless of gender. Well worth a visit, an hour well spent.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank vpexplores1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 September 2019

Had been meaning to take a look for some time and finally got round to it. Was do surprised at how big and professional it is..... although I don't know why I thought it wouldn't be. The staff were all lovely and so helpful. They obviously loved what they were doing and the whole ethos of the place. I will go back as you can't take it all in the first time. Please please go you won't be disappointed....what else can you get for £2

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank bridget h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews