We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Railway Hotel

The Railway Hotel
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 May 2018

Decided to visit the Railway Hotel after seeing a show at Lowther Pavillion. The hotel / restaurant looked great from the outside and décor pleasant inside and we've been meaning to give it a try for ages. Given that it was nearing 9pm and we were told that food was served until 11pm, we ordered the mixed grill to be told that they had run out of mixed grills (?). We eventually ordered fish and chips and the gammon meal. Mistake! Chips barely warm, mushy peas, lukewarm , fish OK. Gammon really salty.
Staff seemed pretty 'take it or leave it' and not particularly welcoming. To be fair, it may be that we just had an unfortunate experience. Not being strangers to other Wetherspoon venues, where we have enjoyed good food and friendly service, we were surprised to be really disappointed when in Lytham.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank hamilton1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PubManager6723, Manager at The Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your visit here at The Railway Hotel. We set high standards for both quality of food and good, efficient service; however sometimes we fall short of the standards we set. We take your comments very seriously and will use them to improve going forward. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018

Went for breakfast , not very busy, attention to take our order was quick and efficient.
Drinks served and not a long wait for our meals.
All the food was lukewarm , very disappointing, first time we have had a sub-standard meal at a Wetherspoons.
We had nibbles the day before and they were very good. Is it a Chef issue ????

3  Thank Larbrecklady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PubManager6723, Manager at The Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your visit here at The Railway Hotel. We set high standards for both quality of food and good, efficient service; however sometimes we fall short of the standards we set. We take your comments very seriously and will use them to improve going forward. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Absolutley ridiculous , food cold and only half the order arrived , staff have no clue on how to resolve the issue and then brought our onion rings after we complained and theyvwere cold and greasy !!!! Wouldn't feed my dog in here

3  Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PubManager6723, Manager at The Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your visit here at The Railway Hotel. We set high standards for both quality of food and good, efficient service; however sometimes we fall short of the standards we set. We take your comments very seriously and will use them to improve going forward. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018

Went recently for the curry night with someone who had never been before. Bits of food and dirty plates everywhere. Table filthy and they had sold out of many of the curry's. We raised this with a senior staff member who said they had a lot of customers turning up. Is this not what you plan and cater for! We walked out and will never go again. Found a great meal in a clean local curry restaurant instead.

2  Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PubManager6723, Manager at The Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

We are saddened to hear that you did not enjoy your visit here at The Railway Hotel. We set high standards for both quality of food and good, efficient service; however sometimes we fall short of the standards we set. We take your comments very seriously and will use them to improve going forward. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2018

Had never been to a Weatherspoons before so went in with an open mind.
Food was ok to good and very reasonably priced - but better than some 'pub grub' places.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PubManager6723, Manager at The Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thank you for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and would love to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Railway Hotel also viewed

Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 
Lytham St Anne's, Lancashire
 

Been to The Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing