We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set your alarm...”

The Old Buttercross
Ranked #35 of 82 Restaurants in Oakham
Price range: US$11 - US$18
Description: Join Shane, Kate and the team for a great time at the Old Buttercross. Our Grill and Pizza Menu means that you can spend less on eating out, without compromising on quality. The Grill and Pizza Menu includes grills, pub classics and pizza from our very own PIzza Kitchen. We hope to see you soon!
Restaurant details
Description: Join Shane, Kate and the team for a great time at the Old Buttercross. Our Grill and Pizza Menu means that you can spend less on eating out, without compromising on quality. The Grill and Pizza Menu includes grills, pub classics and pizza from our very own PIzza Kitchen. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

On a Sunday you need to head down there as soon as you've finished your morning paper. Unfortunately you can't book a table, so it's a first come first serve job. Sunday's are busy so with a big group it can be tricky. The food is very reasonable and also much better than the likes of weatherspoons. Good beers and bar provision. Check on line, there's some good midweek meal deals.

Thank Duncflint17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane and Kate R, Manager at The Old Buttercross, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hi
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I hope you enjoyed your visit. It’s only Sundays that we don’t take bookings.
We have 2 mid week deals
Wednesday evening... Pizza and a selected drink for £9 and Thursday evening 2 Steaks and a bottle of Hardy’s wine For £25
We hope to see you again soon

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

I recently visited to celebrate my birthday with my family. The service was excellent thanks to a lovely waiter called Matt. Happy to help, quick and efficient and always smiling. All the food was cooked perfectly and I don’t think there was a single thing left on our plates. Will definitely be coming back and trying different items from the extensive menu! The also made the Pornstar Martini to perfection! My favourite drink! Thank you!

Thank SMH2301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate R, Manager at The Old Buttercross, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Old Buttercross. We are so pleased you enjoyed your meals and your Pornstar Martini.
I will be sure to pass your comments on to Matt regarding his service.
We hope to see you again soon

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

we visited the old buttercross for early afternoon meal
we were greeted by a friendly and helpful waiter
we had the mixed grille which was perfectly cooked and very enjoyable
our thoughts were this is an excellent stopping off place for a meal and drink
if we are travelling through will visit again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank james b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

We came to the pub on Saturday (7th of April) past 6pm without booking. Me, my partner and pur 4 kids. Man on the door didn't make us feel bad because we haven't booking just quickly find table for us.
Our waitress take drink order and gave us few minutes to choose starters. Melt camembert cheese and cheesy nachos (both share) was great. We finish starters and been waiting really long time for our mains but that what happend after just push me to give 5*. Before we complain about waiting manager came to our table, apologise us with whole his hart and offer free drinks. That was something absolutely unexpected. After that our mains come in and was delicious. Mine steak with mushroom and stilton cheese was cooked perfect( can remember when I get so perfect medium steak last time), my partner had a burger with bacon, pineapple, cheese and egg, was amazing kids loved they lasagne and pizza too.
After meal we been offered free desserts to one more time rewarded our time waiting. Manager didn't stop apologise us.
Great job! We all had amazing experience not because we get something for free, was amazing because we felt really looked after and food was great!
Well done whole time!
We defenetely come back and will recommend to everyone!!!

Thank Sylwia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane and Kate R, Manager at The Old Buttercross, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit and that your meals were worth the wait.

We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon

Kate Read

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

Went in on a Saturday evening for our first about 7pm having not booked. As the place was heaving they asked us to wait two minutes for a table so we bought drinks and within five minutes we’re seated at a good table for four by a window. We were pleased to note all the soft furnishings that keep the noise level down when a place is full - carpet, curtains, cloth upholstered seating, cubby hole partitioning etc. The outside of the building looks good in daylight or after dark - beautifully lit. Our waiters, mainly Jamie, came promptly for our orders and the food appeared fairly promptly considering as I said the place was full. The food was fine, no further comment needed as we’re not foodies. The menu was really great with a very large variety of dishes on offer, all at well below average prices. We paid £26 for two starters and two mains. All in all we were very satisfied and would recommend highly.

P.s. on my iPad I’ve not been able to rate the stars on Tripadvisor for Service, Food or Value out of five stars because the three rating buttons don’t work. Tripadvisor please note! I’ve found this problem before using an ipad. The Overall Rating button DOES work.

Thank ballis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shane and Kate R, Manager at The Old Buttercross, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

It’s always great to receive such great feedback

I will be sure to pass your comments on to the Team.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon, maybe on a Thursday evening for our 2 steaks and a bottle of wine for £25. It’s such a great deal.

Kate Read

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Buttercross also viewed

 

Been to The Old Buttercross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing