We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fantastic place to escape to. Paradise!”
other travellers have booked this property
The view from the yoga deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the yoga deck
The chalet viewed from above the private terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The view from the yoga deck
The chalet viewed from above the private terrace
The comfortable interior showing the woodburning stove
The comfortable kingsize bed and sofa area.
The ensuite shower room with spacious power shower and tiled interior
The shower has an overhead and hand - held showerhead.
The kitchen area with breakfast bar
The private woodland terrace showing the dining table and pizza oven
The natural woodland behind the chalet
Guests are free to roam the land at Tree Tops
The River Wye winds its way through lush green countryside.
Steps behind the chalet lead off into the woods
Explore the woodland paths
Guests can sometimes obtain produce from our productive vegetable garden
Our chickens produce lovely fresh free range eggs.
The elevated deck and woodfired hot tub
View from the elevated deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Katie H
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place to escape to. Paradise!”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Such a beautiful place to stay and so peaceful. My little boy and dog loved exploring the surrounding woodlands. Marion and Simon were so welcoming. Milk and flapjacks on arrival. Delicious! We had such a lovely time and made good use of the pizza oven and chimnea. Nuthatch was cosy, pretty and clean. I would highly recommend and am looking forward to going back soon and exploring the area more .A haven from the busy world! Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! The peace and quiet.
Liked least: I loved it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Suzette M
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautifully secluded spot and well appointed acccommdation .”
Reviewed 26 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Loved are stay hear only wished we had more time to enjoy the beautiful country side. Boris are Dog loved his holiday hear as he was able to wonder freely around . Will definitely be going back agin . The property was wonderful clean everything you needed was there. Milk in the fridge and chocolate brownies home cooked . Thank you Marion and Simon who were very helpful and simply wanted us to fully enjoy our stay. They succeeded!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2015
So glad you enjoyed yourselves!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpeedyUK
UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find!”
Reviewed 24 May 2015 for a stay in July 2014

We had a fantastic stay at Nuthatch Cottage in July 2014 on a self-catering basis. We were looking for somewhere peaceful to re-charge our batteries and found just what we needed. Simon and Marion provided wonderful hospitality without being intrusive. On arrival we were given freshly laid eggs (which were the best we’ve ever tasted) and homemade cake which was extremely thoughtful and much appreciated. Simon is an excellent authority on birds. This would make a great place to stay for those wanting to see Peregrine Falcons, Goshawk and Buzzards from Symonds Yat Rock, or throughout the wooded slopes of the River Wye, along with Kingfishers, and in the summer, Nightjars.

Simon and Marion rent their own canoes and kayaks and we were able to have a wonderful day experiencing the River Wye from Ross-on-Wye to Symonds Yat by kayak. Simon ensured we were well equipped and personally took us to the start and collected us from the finish.

Nuthatch Cottage is an excellent base for the Forest of Dean and we hope to return in the near future to enjoy both the area and this delightful accommodation. Marion and Simon also offer bed and breakfast in very well presented accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2015
Glad you enjoyed your visit with us! Hope to welcome you back again soon. Please be aware we are no longer offering B&B here at Tree Tops but hopefully the welcome is just as warm!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taniapom
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderfully calming environment to rest your body and soul...”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We almost dont want to tell you about this place because we feel like it our little secret! It has become our favorite get away. Marion and Simon have created an idillic place to relax and enjoy Ross on Wye and all that the Forest of Dean has to offer.

This time we had fun playing with the pizza oven, with mixed results, but with a good slug of local cider we barely noticed the chared crust.

Just great.... But don't tell anyone!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The seclusion and the owners
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2015
Great to have you back a second time and hope you continue to enjoy our little retreat!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing