We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer mini break exploring hidden gems in Salcombe.”
Review of Paper Bird Island

Paper Bird Island
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Paper Bird Island is a creative paradise situated based in the beautiful South Devon coastal town of Salcombe. A space to inspire and encourage the inner child in everyone!
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We were walking down Island street in Salcombe and fancied a cuppa seeing the Paperbirdisland sign saying teas & coffees we decided to explore a little further , on climbing the steep stairs too the art studio we were amazed to find this little gem , art classes face paint and more , the enthusiastic owner explained her coffee machine was out of action so we could have instant coffee or tea , which was fine with us offering to pay for the drinks Alice ( I think that was her name ) said it was donation only so we popped it in the tub then sat outside on stalls in the beeming sunshine . We struck up conversation with the owner and soon discovered she had only been in business 18 months and although the main purpose of the buiness is art and face painting focused she was considering moving towards a Cafe as well , which we both said would be a good idea . Here's hoping the next time we visit your ideas have come on and a little Cafe is flourishing .

Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaperBirdAl, Owner at Paper Bird Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review Paper Bird Island ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"arts and crafts"
in 2 reviews
"tea and coffee"
in 3 reviews
"warm welcome"
in 2 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 3 reviews
"lovely place"
in 2 reviews
"alice"
in 10 reviews
"donation"
in 4 reviews
"unicorn"
in 2 reviews
"project"
in 2 reviews
"sofas"
in 2 reviews
"prints"
in 2 reviews
"quietly"
in 2 reviews
"shop"
in 3 reviews
"dog"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Had a fantastic afternoon with our daughter painting and decorating a dinosaur and duck. Coffee for the adults and a welcome escape from the rain. Highly recommended.

Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaperBirdAl, Owner at Paper Bird Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your kind review. Much appreciated ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

We had such a lovely little visit here with our 3 year old daughter. She loved painting her butterfly box and the owner was so helpful with the glitter and paints. Definitely worth a visit if you have young children (or older ones!) - good way to take up an hour or so and have a coffee whilst your there. Thank you, will come again when in the area.

1  Thank Hbrims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaperBirdAl, Owner at Paper Bird Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Many thanks for your review ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015 via mobile

We dropped in here one afternoon while on holiday. The kids loved it, they chose to decorate a dinosaur and a penguin and had great fun (as did we) choosing how to style it. Recommended.

Thank Cosmopolitan549767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaperBirdAl, Owner at Paper Bird Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

A much belated many thanks for your review of Paper Bird Island ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 August 2015 via mobile

Went as a group of 8. Everyone had a great time. Long periods of silence as everyone was engrossed in creating their own masterpieces! Made a very enjoyable rest from sailing and beach. Alice was very accommodating and so good with my two younger girls. Would definitely go back.

Thank lotty321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaperBirdAl, Owner at Paper Bird Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

A very belated many thanks for reviewing Paper Bird Island ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paper Bird Island also viewed

 

Been to Paper Bird Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing