We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A comfortable cottage equipped with all you could...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Primrose Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Mariek987...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not clean and a bit tired”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

When we opened the door on arrival, we were greated by a lot of cobwebs, and unfortunatly this was the case throughout the whole cottage. It seemed like noone had been there for quite a while, and certainly not a cleaner, which meant dusty cushions and a lot of cobwebs. As I'm allergic we ended up having to clean ourselves. The cottage itself is nice enough but the interior is in need of a a revamp; the kitchen especially is pretty dated. The location is fine but its a long drive to kingsbridge, and salcombe. The ferry is down a steep hill, but the beaches on this side of the river are nice as well. The garden is large but mostly unusable because its very steep. All in all, although it is a relatively cheap option, the value for money wasn't great.

Date of stay: July 2014
Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
We are sorry if there were cobwebs and afterwards took steps to see that this is not repeated. We have always employed local professional cleaners before every letting, whose details and telephone numbers are displayed prominently in the kitchen, with a request for them to be contacted in the event of any problem, but they were not contacted. The remaining points should have been fairly obvious from a study of the photos and information which we placed on the website and a glance at a road atlas. However, it's interesting to see that someone does not love Primrose Cottage and its location as much as we do.
Allen Chubb
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DenrBlott
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A comfortable cottage equipped with all you could possibly need.”
Reviewed 30 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

A cracking week spent in Primrose Cottage! We were quite lucky with the weather but one wet/windy day we spent most all of the day/evening relaxing in the cottage with tea and tv, very cosy and comfortable it was too! The ferry is a cute little thing which will run even if there is only one couple waiting! Salcombe is of course beautiful and Dick & Wills (turn left from the ferry) and The Winking Prawn (turn right) are well worth a visit. A happy, very relaxing holiday! We shall return!

Date of stay: September 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace & quiet with the easy option to travel to nearby places
Liked least: It rained a few times!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Reviewed 13 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Date of stay: August 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Simply the cosy accommodation and convenience for families.
Liked least: The small freezer compartment in the fridge
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.