We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent for large family holiday close to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of West Soar

Sunny Soar Mill Cove
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunny Soar Mill Cove
West Soar Front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Sunny Soar Mill Cove
West Soar Front
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining Room
Master Suite
2nd Double
Twin Room
Bunk Room
Top Single
Master Bath
Master Suite Balcony
Games Room
Crisp Spring Day
Sunset over the bay
Salcombe
West Soar
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
chris g
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent for large family holiday close to lovely beach”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Finding a house ,near a beach that can accommodate 6 adults and 4 grandchildren is not easy.West Soar does this as well as being close to a luxury hotel with all facilities.Our grand children dashed into the house on our arrival returning seconds later shouting "there is a tv in every bedroom"
We played tennis and swam in the pool every day ,walking down to beach when the weather was kind.
Whilst we were there it was our grand daughters 5th birthday.The owners arranged for the largest table in the restaurant to be set out for afternoon tea including a birthday cake with the greetings in Welsh for Betsan .
The lack of bin bags on our arrival was recompensed by the immediate offer of a bottle of wine which we gladly accepted.
West Soar provided us with an excellent base for our holiday with the added bonus of being comfortable but not somewhere where we constantly worried about 4 youngsters damaging the ming vases etc etc
Sitting in the lounge watching the sun go down and then seeing the light of the Eddystone Lighthouse 15 miles away was unforgetable .

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Delighted to welcome your family, so glad you had a relaxing holiday. we always enjoy seeing multi generational families as we know it works so well in this way. Jenny and I look forward to welcoming you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nancy B
1 review
“Magnificent destination for all the family”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We spent the most wonderful week here in August with adult children and two grandchildren of 14 and 16. Weather was mixed but the 'kids' had a marvellous time in the pool and walking on the beach. One even cycled to Salcombe on one of the bikes kindly provided. As chief cook, the view from the sink was magnificent, and the kitchen very well appointed.
No mobile reception( we had a landline) was a revellation, as the grandchildren enjoyed a holiday similar to those enjoyed by their parents. Fresh air,outdoor activities, swimming pool and conversation. Truly wonderful break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Oh that's so lovely to see that you had a nice holiday at West Soar, Jenny and I are delighted and look forward to welcoming you back in the future, when we can show you some fresh touches we are planning to do this winter.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa H
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Tired and Neglected House”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It is a shame I am having to write this review. We had a very disappointing stay at West Soar, the owners were on holiday at the time but have not tried to contact us since we left (over a month ago) despite us leaving our comments with the manager.
We were 2 families with young children staying for a week. The house is large, but it is very dated. Mouldy windows that don't shut properly, flimsy curtains, damp smelly bathrooms. The house is in a beautiful spot, but the hedges were all overgrown so we were not able to make the most of the view. Stinging nettles everywhere, so not great for the kids running around the garden / paved area. There is wifi in part of the house, but no phone signal. A (very very very) old pay phone is supplied, which eats money like nothing i've experienced before. It would have been nice to have some basic supplies in the house (i.e. tea, coffee, sugar, oil, etc). It is an expensive house to rent, and it would be very easy indeed to make small changes so that it is an enjoyable place to stay.
Although West soar is not part of the hotel, it is handy to have it so close (less than 5 min walk). We were able to use the hotel facilities (i.e. pool) which was good with the kids. The hotel seems very nice, and the staff too. There was a mix up with our booking, stating that we had breakfast included (this apparently is never the case as the house is independent from the hotel). In the end we were allowed 3 breakfasts in the hotel, which was excellent food, however as the mistake was theirs I would have thought they would have honoured the breakfast meals each morning - as that was on our confirmation.
We all came away feeling really quite disappointed. Frustrated too, as it would have taken little effort to make it more special. The house felt neglected and dated.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Nov 2015
Constructive criticism and genuine reviews are welcomed, however on this occasion our rather lovely and caring staff were the subject of appalling manners and unreasonable demands, I think due to a rainy August week. Despite ridiculous demands of free breakfast at our nearby hotel my Manager Matt bent over backwards in our absence to provide all that was requested. Cream Tea & Champagne were all delivered to ensure the guest felt valued, cash was dropped through the door to pay for the guests phone calls and yet clearly nothing other than a free holiday was ever going to please this guest, which would have been a silly precedent to reward the very rare occasion that someone is simply looking for a freebie. The house is a beautiful AA 5 star property prepared each week by a team of caring and polite staff who welcome all of our lovely guests. Suffice to say this is the one and only occasion that we have had other than delightful guests that often become our great friends and return time and again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cosette46
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great house in a lovely location”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely bank holiday weekend at West Soar
This house is linked with the hotel at soar mill cove and you can use the facilities.
The house was as described and we would definitely go back.
Very clean and well equipped.
Bit of a walk to the cove but you can take your time and its nice to have a drink at the hotel on the way back!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Jenny and I have just been reading your lovely review and are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at West Soar. We are planning some improvement this winter so look forward to showing you the house on a future visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 31 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace, quiet and amazing views - slept like babies
Liked least: I can't live here all the time!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
How slow we are to say thank you for such a lovely review. Jenny and I are delighted that you had such a lovely holiday and thank you for feedback
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$368
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing