We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous and all you need for a great getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our 5x10m pool - included with all lets from May to October Four poster in BR1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Our 5x10m pool - included with all lets from May to October
Four poster in BR1
Woodburner within the Ingelnook fireplace in the middle sitting room
Kitchen with Rayburn and farmhouse table
Family room (TV now with 42' screen plus satellite & bluray)
Kingsized double in Bedroom 5
Twin beds in Bedroom 2 (and Bedroom 4 is fairly similar)
Upstairs Bathroom (and theres a shower room downstairs)
Rear of the house with south facing patio
Farmhouse table in the kitchen extended to seat 10 people.
Wisteria on the South facing patio
Looking back at the house from the pool.
The pool is 10m long by 5m wide. It is 1.2m in the shallow end and 2.4m in the deep end.
Hammock by our pond
Our Stone Circle (20th century!) with part of the garden beyond
The slate seat outside the front door
Looking across part of the 1.5 acre garden towards the house
Trampoline at sunset!
12mins to attractive Tavistock with great shops and a pannier market dating back to the 12th century
Fantastic walks on Darmoor - from just 10 plus minutes drive away
The iconic Brentor Church on the edge of Dartmoor - just a few minutes drive from the house
Wheal Betsy in Mary Tavy
Carved owl bench in the middle of our garden
Dartmoor - from 10 minutes away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Addison G
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous and all you need for a great getaway”
Reviewed 15 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a school reunion with a load of fourth year olds... HARTWELL was fabulous . They had left a welcome hamper with fresh bread, eggs and tea, milk in the fridge, towels on the beds and soap in the shower. House was very warm and welcoming. The garden had many sun traps and immaculately kept. The pool was heated and perfect for a morning swim and sunbathe with a book.
Couldn’t recommend more ... enjoy

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2018
Thanks for your positive review Addison. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again at some point in the future. best wishes, Angus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kjkate
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, idyllic location”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wow. We have just returned home from 3 perfect nights in Hartwell House. There is nothing even slightly negative to say about this holiday home. It is beautiful. The home is cozy, and comfortable. The sofa next to the log burner is the perfect place to relax after playing in the garden (there are ample games in the garage, including cricket and table tennis.) The swimming pool was heated, immaculately clean and the view from the pool, over the rolling hills reminded me how much I love England. The kitchen is very well equipped with high quality utensils and cooking dishes. Perfect for a roast lamb supper for 10 people! I cannot recommend a trip to Hartwell more highly. We only left the house once to go to The Royal Inn for a scrumptious lunch. We cannot wait to return. Thank you Angus from the bottom of our hearts for making a special family occasion truly perfect. Kate, family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Thanks so much for your lovely review Kate. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon.
Angus
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
angelajar...
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Beautiful spot to build family memories and enjoy Devon and Cornwall.”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We were travelling from USA and had adventures planned all over England.This house gave us a relaxing and rejuvenating week. We loved the layout and furnishings of the house. It was so comfortable and also a wonderful spot to cook together,laugh together and share tall tales of the past. It is in a good location for visiting lots of local beauty spots but the house has its own magic also. We enjoyed having a pub a short walk away and loved the kitchen. UK never offers any promises of good weather but on the cold night a fire burning in the woodstove and comfy sofas make everything feel good. Quinn who is 6 foot five did learn that people in the past were shorter and learned to duck in a couple of doorways . Dan loved the table tennis and we all enjoyed the pool. I found a good book to read and revived my Aga cooking skills. We had a couple of friends and family visit and the spaciousness meant we could all relax

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sward297
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Our booking experience went smoothly thanks to Angus. Very quick at responding to queries and helpful too.

We were met on arrival by Tracey who was lovely and made us feel welcome. We had a small issue during our stay which Tracey and Angus both helped with straight away. The welcome hamper was also a nice touch.

The house itself is huge. There is plenty of space inside and the kitchen area is a nice place to sit and leads out into a lovely garden area which was nice to sit in at the end of the day.

We had great weather so spent most days around the pool area which was great. The pool house has plenty of inflatables and towels available to use too.

The outside area is amazing and set out really well as there are different sections. The views are great and it's so quiet and peaceful.

The table tennis table in the garage was used a lot and there are plenty of wellies to use if you want to go off for a walk. The children also made use of the big trampoline.

Tavistock is about a 15 minute drive and there are plenty of places to eat. There are also several supermarkets.

The nearest pub to the house is a mile away. Fine to walk to, but it's uphill on the way back so would advise driving there.

We all had a fantastic holiday and hope to return to Hartwell again. I would highly recommend and thank you again Angus and Tracey.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margret M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well-equipped comfortable country house, with a fantastic pool.”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is an ideal house for a family. We were two grandparents, two adults and three children.
Everyone had a wonderful time as there was so much to do, both around the house as well as in the surrounding area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again in the summer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing