We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely little ruined priory

Just a short drive from Boscobel House there is a small lay-by in the Lane, it’s then a short walk... read more

Reviewed 26 July 2020
149stuartc
,
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
via mobile
Nice but small

Took a trip on a Saturday afternoon as we don't live too far. The English Heritage site says it's... read more

Reviewed 2 September 2019
stevemorgan49
,
Cannock, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 55 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Wolverhampton
from US$10.38
More Info
from US$25.48
More Info
from US$25.48
More Info
from US$14.12
More Info
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
14
21
19
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
14
21
19
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boscobel house worth a visit ruins layby field worcester battle cars track information lane permissive woods ghost charles
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 55 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2020

White ladies priory - it's hard to know what to say about here. It's a lovely little ruin of a church/priory, but it is very small and basically it's just a shell of a building with a few arches left. However, it's free to visit.

Parking is a nightmare! There is NO car park and you have to be lucky enough to get a space on the small layby situated by the entrance to wooded path. To get to the Priory, you need to take a 5min walk through the woods and the site is on your left across a small field.

As mentioned, the site is very small and I would NOT recommend a special trip here, use it a one stop off on a tour. The photos tell you all you need to see. On the day of my visit, AGAIN, lots of kids climbing all over the walls. Now these walls are quite high, so I suspect at some point there's going to be an injury or death and the site will be ruined or closed to the public. As there are signs telling you NOT to climb, why do it?

Also, the site was heavily littered. It's a disease of the British public to leave litter everywhere. There were several plastic bags containing various trash left all around the site, but the worse was yet to come. Upon entering through the bottom archway and through the next, I was met with one of the most disgusting sights ever. Some filthy animal had defecated up one of the inside walls, and left their wipings stuck to said wall. If they had to go, why not use the woods not 30 seconds walk away. As there is no attendant, this was be left to rot and ruin visits for other people, not to mention children stepping in it.

There have been a few reports of ghost here and I think I may have captured one on one of my photos. It's a transparent figure dressed in white...!!? Have a look and make your own mind up. See photo 3.

Worth a visit - only if passing, but watch where you step!

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank apophisguard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2020 via mobile

Just a short drive from Boscobel House there is a small lay-by in the Lane, it’s then a short walk down a tree lined track that brings you to a small field with the priory in it. It’s not an extensive building but what there is, is very pretty with some lovely features, particularly the main door. There is an information board at the entrance which is interesting to read. Definitely worth a stop if you’re in the area and have 20 to 30 minutes.

Date of experience: July 2020
1  Thank 149stuartc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2020

A ruins with plenty of history as Charles ll used it as a hideaway following the battle of Worcester. You can imagine a lot from the ruins and only a short distance from Boscobel House.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank tworetreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019 via mobile

Took a trip on a Saturday afternoon as we don't live too far. The English Heritage site says it's walkable from Boscobel House - it is, but the staff didn't seem overly keen on telling us about the permissive path through the Boscobel site and I wouldn't recommend walking from there along the road as most of is a single road with limited passing. We decided to drive down the narrow road (thankfully we didn't encounter oncoming traffic!) and foynd a space on the road by the site. It's worth noting there's only room for about 4 cars by the priory itself. It's a short walk down to the ruins. There's not much to see, but it's a nice, quiet place so worth seeking out if in the area. It's somewhere you'll spend hours though.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank stevemorgan49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019

Ruins of an ancient priory with some walls still standing. Off the road down a dirt track area is grassed down. Information plaque which is quite limited. Small parking space on side of road. Short elk from Boscobel House so worth a walk down

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank thehorseshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews