We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the best self-caters we have stayed in”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Shaws Farm Cottage

Front entrance to Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance to Cottage
Cottage patio in October sunshine Drive to Shaws Farm, Parking for 1 car
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Front entrance to Cottage
Cottage patio in October sunshine
Drive to Shaws Farm, Parking for 1 car
Lounge, diner
Fitted kitchen with  eye level double oven
Great views from the kitchen window
main bedroom
main bedroom, king size bed
small single bedroom
Entrance foyer
Downstairs washroom and toilet
Main bathroom with shower over bath
Valley at bottom of garden
Views from the cottage
View of the Farmhouse and Cottage
Autumn view from the Cottage
View from the cottage
View from the cottage
Views from the cottage
Local rural walks
Fishing on Hythe Beach
Hythe Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Ashford, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Gillian O
Cheadle, United Kingdom
1 review
“One of the best self-caters we have stayed in”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

The owners gave immediate response to our enquiries and acknowledgement of our deposit etc. The property was immaculate, roomy and well-equipped with everything you could possibly need. A very relaxing place in a peaceful location down country roads but very close to excellent road systems giving quick and easy access to the many places to visit. The owners were very helpful with ideas of places to go but not intrusive. An excellent place to stay. We liked it so much we have already booked to go back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the lounge window
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2014
Thank you for all your lovely comments, and we look forward to seeing you both in June 2015
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleSax...
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very high standard once again”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

A year on and delighted to find standards are as high as last time. Susan ensures a spotlessly clean and comfortable home from home. Everything is provided as you would expect, but we were also given fresh eggs and milk in the fridge, a lovely vase of irises to enjoy, and an Easter egg each as it was Easter holiday weekend. The cottage is situated in peaceful countryside and well sited for enjoying all that Kent has to offer. We found it very easy to relax once again in such a lovely self catering cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments. It was a pleasure to see you all again, and so nice that you had sunshine this time and not snow.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
val L
Okehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A peaceful cottage in a beautiful part of the country.”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

I stayed at Shaws Farm Cottage with my sister and my young daughter. We had a lovely couple of days visiting family nearby. The cottage was everything we hoped it would be: clean, comfortable, quiet, with stunning scenery and very friendly helpful owners. We will definitely return again as soon as we can!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DUXBAY
Duxbury, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 10 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Shaws Farm Cottage was perfect - spotlessly clean, large and comfortable, kitchen was fully equipped, decorating was lovely and relaxing, views of the sheep and countryside were exquisite and the host and hostess warm and welcoming. It doesn't get any better than this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the cottage
Liked least: It's a llittle hard to find
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“should be five star”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

First rate accommodation. Peaceful location, spotlessly clean property, with everything we could want, including a coffee maker. The wildlife was wonderful to watch from the patio window. We saw a woodpecker and a little owl, plus the antics of the rabbits and crows kept us entertained. The property was ideally situated for many locations, and only 15 mins from Canterbury. Our host's were friendly very helpful and even came to meet us when we got lost!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing